Bring It On – Athleta Iron Girl Del Mar, CA 10K Run

It’s official! I’ll be running the Athleta Iron Girl Del Mark 10K. I’m excited, giddy, jumping for joy!

image

That’s a lie…I’m scared out of my mind! And I probably shouldn’t say I’ll be running, it’ll be more of a walk/jog sad wog. But who cares, I’m doing it anyway, even if I have to bob and weave to dodge the sweep van…I’m going to FINISH!

I’m not a runner (which should be apparent if I’m threatening to dodge the sweepers), but I do enjoy running. I’ve started many times over the years, but usually stop since my favorite form of cardio is dancing. Running/Walking is excellent cardio but I never seem to stick with it long term.

The last race I ran in was in October 2009, the Nike Women’s Half in San Francisco.

P1010538

It was an incredible experience, and such a beautiful course. Although sadly the raffle hates me and 2009 is the only year I’ve even been accepted.

Here’s the thing, running in a race has never been a great incentive for me. Back in 2009 when I was running more often, I only chose a few races a year, instead of dozens. I then turned each one into a mini vacation. For San Francisco, I planned a week long road trip that let me drive up and down the California coast, it was an incredible week.

Stunning views in Carmel, along the 17 mile scenic route on our way home after the race.

Carmel Coastline

Since I live in Southern California, I won’t need a road trip. However, I enjoy my sleep too much to drive 2+ hours to a race. So I’ll be staying at The Marriott Del Mar. As a bonus, it will help me meet my nightly quota so I can get to the next membership level with Marriott. I [heart] Marriott, even though they don’t know I’m alive.

Outdoor Patio Lounge

I have 11 weeks to get ready. In all honesty, I really am very excited about this race, it should be a lot of fun!

 

Have you ever run an Iron Girl Event?

One response

  1. Pingback: Smart Coach Training Plan – Half Marathon & 10K | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

