DIY Christmas Ornament 5: Cardboard Flower

I’m not sure what to call this one. For some reason it just feels odd to refer to it as the Toilet Paper Roll Ornament…but that’s exactly what it is.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

I’m very inspired by the cardboard roll art out there so I’ve been collecting toilet paper rolls from everyone (which can be weird). However, while I figure out the larger art piece I’m working on, I came up with an ornament that everyone can do. I’m mean let’s face it, unless you’re super ‘green’, you use toilet paper and have toilet paper rolls in your house.

In addition to the rolls, break out some paint…things are about to get crazy!

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • 1 Toilet Paper Roll (per ornament)
  • Craft Paint
  • String, Ribbon, or Twine
  • any other decorations or baubles
  • Tacky Glue
  • Scissors

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Ignore the clamp scissors in the picture, you will use regular everyday scissors for this craft.

Step 2:

Flatten the rolls. Use something heavy to make the fold clean and crisp.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Step 3:

Cut the rolls into 5 even pieces. They’ll be about 3/4 inch each.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Arrange the pieces into the flower shape to make sure they are even. They don’t need to be perfect, but you want them to be similar in width.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Step 4:

Break out the paint and paint all sides of each petal. I painted several ornaments which is why you see green paint; however, white paint worked the best. It had the best coverage and if the cardboard peaked out, it had a rustic look. Yes, I just called a toilet paper roll rustic.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Step 5:

Once the pieces are dry, arrange the petals and begin gluing them together with tacky glue.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Step 6:

I had a few bells leftover from last year which I used on the bottom of the ornament. Then I used some twine as a hanger.

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown (per Ornament):

Toilet Paper Roll (Already Owned) = $0

Twine (Already Owned) = $0

White Craft Paint Already Owned) = $0

Glue/Scissors/Painting Supplies (Already Owned) = $0

Holiday Bell (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $0 FREE!

Cardboard Flower Holiday Ornament

I didn’t have the highest hopes for this ornament, but in the end I really like it. I also think it would make a really stunning garland to string a few up across a mantle. Maybe even with some Christmas lights.

4 responses

  1. Pingback: DIY – Upcycled Herb Cans | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: Eco Challenge – Displacing Water | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

