DIY Christmas Ornament 10: Cork Ball

I’d like to take this moment to thank my wino friends  & family who supply me with a large collection of corks for crafts just like this. I really appreciate your love for the booze. I kid…I kid…ok, not really. Since I rarely drink wine (I don’t even own a wine opener), I actually really love you for keeping me stocked in cork.

Looking back, the Cork Tree, was one of my favorite ornaments so far. I also like that you could make it very meaningful by using corks from a specific event or holiday. On that note, keep the corks you pop for Christmas/New Years this year and make an ornament out of them. Next year it will be a nice reminder of a past holiday (make sure to date it).

A quick note, this ornament is actually much heavier than it looks. Make sure you are starting with a smaller Styrofoam ball as the corks will make it much larger/heavier than you expect.

Also, don’t limit yourself to using this as an ornament. Skip the ribbon and you have a very cool decorative ball that can fill vases or decorate other areas of your house year round.

Cork Ball Ornament

 

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • About 10 corks (if you are using a small Styrofoam ball)
  • Small Styrofoam Ball
  • Hot Glue
  • Screw Eye
  • Ribbon
  • Utility Knife or Straight Edge Blade
  • Glitter/Homemade Mod Podge (Optional)

Cork Ball Ornament

Step 2:

Cut down the corks using the knife (I used a Straight Edge Blade which made it very easy). I recommend cutting them down to about 1/2 inch, you should get 3 pieces out of each cork.

Cork Ball Ornament

Cork Ball Ornament

Step 3:

Using the hot glue, attach the cork pieces. I was using high heat, black glue, but you can use regular, clear hot glue for this project.

Cork Ball Ornament

Continue attaching the cork pieces until the entire Styrofoam ball is covered. Keep the knife handy as you may need to cut down some of the cork pieces to fit them on the Styrofoam.

Cork Ball Ornament

Step 4:

Once your done, pull out the hanging and decorating supplies.

Cork Ball Ornament

Step 5:

You can easily attach  ribbon hanger by using a small screw eye. It will screw easily into one of the cork pieces.

Cork Ball Ornament

Attach the ribbon.

Step 6:

This step is optional, but since I used black glue, I found it necessary. I used a small paint brush to apply the homemade mod podge to the glue only, then sprinkled a black/green glitter on top. It may look a little funky, but it helps blend the hot glue in with the ornament and add some sparkle.

Cork Ball Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown:

Styrofoam Ball (Already Owned) = $0

Corks (Supplied by a wine loving pal) = $0

Hot Glue/Knife/Paint Brush (Already Owned) = $0

Screw Eye/Ribbon (Already Owned) = $0

Homemade Mod Podge/Glitter (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $0

Cork Ball Ornament

5 responses

  1. You are so damn creative it makes me wonder if I even have the right part of my brain. I only have four corks of wine from a ornament party you influenced me to have last friday, so I must have another one in order to make up for the lack of corks. Maybe you’ll come?

  2. Pingback: {DIY} 5 proyectos para estas Navidades con tapones de corcho | El blog de las cosas molonas

  3. Pingback: 10 DIY Christmas Ornaments You Can Make Right Now

Join the Conversation!

