Pinterest Craft DIY Project – Paint Chip Keychain

I’m a little late to the game, but a few weeks back, several home design bloggers hosted a Pinterest DIY challenge. The point was to use pictures you had pinned on Pinterest to inspire a home project. I love Pinterest, and I love a challenge, but due to home & work related emergencies I wasn’t able to get everything done and posted to be part of the actual challenge, but that didn’t stop me from creating a very cool craft.

Addicted 2 Decorating created these incredibly awesome Paint Chips that can be carried with you. They are so much cooler than keeping paper paint chips in your pocket.

Source

So I set out and purchased my own supplies.

Paint Chip Keychain Supplies

I purchased everything at Michael’s, on sale and with coupons. All in all, it cost me less than $10.

Now, before I go any further,I have to say that what you are about to see should be done on a proper work surface. I was restricted to my kitchen due to some house construction work so I had to make due. In all honesty, I’m lucky I didn’t damage my kitchen countertops. This is one of the few times where I’ll say, do as I say, not as I do (for the safety of you and your countertops).

Use a workbench or other solid wood work surface. You may be drilling into this surface, so make sure it’s something you don’t mind damaging.

Indoor Temporary Workbench

Open up the wood discs that you purchased.

Wooden Discs, Paint Chip Keychain Supplies

Mark a dot near the top with marker…

Paint Chip Keychain Supplies

…then drill a hole in each disc.

Paint Chip Keychain Supplies

Sting up the drilled discs…these are your blank paint chips

Paint Chip Keychain Supplies

Next you’ll need to break out your paint.

My tip is to grab a piece of cardboard and some masking tape. You can tape the discs to the board and have a steady place to paint the chips. Once dry you’ll flip the discs and paint the other side.

Paint Chip Keychain Supplies

I used some of my beading supplies to cut down the chain and secured it with a safety-pin. This was my fastener of choice, but another option is to use the fan chain shown above.

Paint Chip Key Chain, Keychain

After you paint all the chips, you’ll have a beautiful key chain with your paint colors that you can keep with you while shopping for furniture or any other reason.

Paint Chip Key Chain, Keychain

On the back of each chip I’ve written the paint type, color, and room it was used.

Paint Chip Key Chain, Keychain

Have you attempted any DIY projects you saw on Pinterest?

SHOWING THE LOVE!

Linking to: Polly Want a Crafter, Ohh Baby Designs, 5 Minutes Just For Me

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Pinterest Fall Challenge: Chalkboard Thermostat Frame | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

