Powder Room ReDesign

One of the things I loved most about my home when I bought it was the potential. All the bathrooms were still builder grade white. Boring, but I was so giddy about all the different possibilities. Over the past year and a half, I have completed 2 full bathrooms, 1 powder room, and the laundry room. All the bedrooms are in a stages of completion, but since bathrooms are small, it’s easy to finish them quickly. Especially since I’m not doing renovations…yet.

My favorite redesign so far has been the powder room, essentially a half bathroom which is near the living room. This is the bathroom that all guests would use since it’s in the main living area near the kitchen. I wanted it somewhat simple and rustic.

Here is the room before. The only picture I have is the one that was posted with the house listing, so it’s not great. Just imagine everything being white. White tile, white pedestal sink, white toilet. It felt a little like a small padded room.

The towel & toilet paper holder hardware was the cheapest builder grade possible. Of course the room was set with the standard ‘fancy’ oval mirror. The room has no natural light and the recessed can light provides a yellow glare, so the after pictures will seem a little dark.

Powder Room - Before

This was my inspiration picture…but really only the flowers were the inspiration. I hold the term ‘Inspiration’ loosely since the finished room looks very little like this. However, I loved the bright pop of color from the flowers and the natural wood vase. I actually think the vase is a glass vase is sitting on top of a natural wood candle holder, genius!

Apologies for no source. I think it was one of the HGTV dream houses, but I don’t have the link.

AFTER…

Powder Room - After

The first step was to buy a new mirror, and I lucked out by finding the perfect one at Homegoods, it was under $50. It instantly gave the room an upgrade look. I decided to leave the pedestal sink since it was in good condition and I also decided to leave the tile for now. I hope to change it out later.

The trash can in the corner is a small stool and Moroccan style ‘jar’, both are from Homegoods. (Seriously I spend a lot of time and money in that store).

The rug, which you can only see a bit of is from IKEA a few years ago. I’d like to change this out eventually when I find one that fits the room better. However, my favorite part of this picture is the towel hardware, which came from West Elm. It’s beautiful and rustic looking, I love it. I also purchased the Toilet Paper Holder from the same collection.

Textured Bath Hardware, Towel Ring, NickelTextured Bath Hardware, Toilet Paper Holder, Nickel

View, opposite the mirror.

Powder Room - After

The whole room really came together when I found the boxes. They are essentially overpriced wooden crates from Pottery Barn. I found them at the Pottery Barn Outlet so my wallet didn’t cry as much.

The white lantern on the floor is being used as a holder for extra toilet paper. It can hold an additional 4 rolls, so visitors (or myself) never have to worry about running out.

Powder Room - After

The accessories in/on the boxes were things that I already had around the home. Some white wash cloths that visitor can use to dry their hands. There are several candles that the make room smell lovely, as well as other knick knacks. I believe the ceramic owl was from West Elm, the Star was from Crate & Barrel Outlet, and the circle cup was from Anthropologie.

Powder Room - After

Project Cost Breakdown

Paint: Quart of Olympic Barefoot Beach $14

Mirror (Homegoods) $49

Towel Rack (West Elm) $22

Toilet Paper Hardware (West Elm) $19

Faux Orchid Plant (Homegoods) $19

Boxes (Pottery Barn Outlet) $50 ($25 each)

White Lantern (Homegoods) $29

All Other Accessories (Already Owned): $0

Total Project Cost: $202

I budgeted $200 for this room and I’m thrilled that it was so close.

SHOWING THE LOVE!

Linking to: Thrifty Decor ChickRemodelaholic , Addicted 2 Decorating, Funky Junk Interiors, Between Naps on the Porch

9 responses

  1. Great post! i love it, please bookmark this page in digg or mixx so that anyone could find it easily.🙂 Thank you for sharing this information. You guys have made a splendid website

  2. Pingback: Monthly Project Recap – September 2011 | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: Spare Bathroom Reveal – 3rd Floor | Changing My Destiny

  4. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  5. Pingback: 2 Year Home Anniversary – A Look Back | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

