Peg Board to Bulletin Board – DIY

I’m all about repurposing things that I find around the house. Since I’ve been sorting through all the junk lately, I have a huge box of donations that offer boundless possibilities. Most are still destined to Goodwill, but a few will find a new use in the house.

In high school and college I worked at an Art & Framing store; where I fell in love with these frames. When they were marked for clearance, I purchased three of them, and they’ve been travelling from home to home with me ever since.

Champagne Ornate Canvas Frames

A few years back I turned two of the frames into jewelry boards, using simple pegboard. It was as simple as cutting the board down to size, putting it in the frame, and adding hanging wire. I used classic pegboard hardware that I purchased from my local hardware store to hang the jewelry.

Jewelry PegBoard

When I moved into my current home, I no longer wanted the jewelry board. I started using a candelabra to hang my jewelry.

Candleabra Jewelry Holder

So the boards now need a new home.

Bulletin Board - Before, Pegboard Jewelry

Enter, Dark Cork Tiles!

Dark Cork Tiles

I purchased two packs of boards from Michael’s, with a 50% off coupon. Each pack cost me $6.50 and came with 4 boards (12 x 12). Luckily the measurements for this project are easy and the boards fit without many cuts. After making a total of 2 cuts, everything was in place.

Dark Cork Tiles, Cutting

The cork came with double stick adhesive squares, so I used those to affix the cork to the pegboard. No drying  or extra glue required.

Dark Cork Tiles

Since the wire was already attached, everything was ready for hanging.

Dark Cork Bulletin Boards

Project Costs:

Frames:  $0 (Already Owned)

Pegboard:  $0 (Already Owned)

Dark Cork Tiles – 2 Packages (Michael’s): $13

Total Project Cost: $13

Not bad way to repurpose some frames for less than $15.

SHOWING THE LOVE!

Linking to: Remodelaholic, Blue Cricket Design, The Shabby Creek Cottage, Beyond The Picket Fence, Ginger Snap Crafts, Ohh Baby Designs, Savvy Southern Style, The Shabby Nest, French Country Cottage, Funky Junk Interiors, Coastal Charm

8 responses

  1. Pingback: Monthly Project Recap – September 2011 | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: I’m Feeling Inspired – 10 DIY Project Ideas | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

