10K Training Update – Week 1 & 2

 

I’m two weeks into the training plan and it’s been a bit of a rocky ride. Ok, that’s actually being generous, it’s been pretty awful.

 

Week 1 Milage: 2

Week 2 Milage: 0

 

Oh good grief, I’m going to die in 7 weeks! You’ll find me splayed out by a water station at mile 5…please send chocolate and maybe a grilled cheese.

 

Workout 1: Tuesday 9/6/2011

2 Miles

35 Minutes

Thoughts: Okay..I can do this! Aside from the standard warm up/cool down I alternated 1 minute running with 2 minutes walking. Felt pretty good for the first time jog/walking in nearly 2 years. Maybe this won’t be as bad as I thought.

 

That was it…and I don’t have a good excuse. I was tired, lazy, busy with various home design projects, and making homemade mod podge. I have every excuse in the book, but none of them will do any good.

So now I have 7 weeks until 10K day, and I’m getting scared.

I wish I was better at this.

 

 

 

Scratch that…

 

I WILL be better at this!

6 responses

    • Hi Angelica! I’m using the Smart Coach system that I found on the Shape Magazine website. I’ve used Hal Higdon’s plans in the past and it worked really well. The only reason why I went with Smart Coach this time was that I wanted something a little more personalized since my running has been pretty non existent over the past few years. Here’s a link to the site I used to build the training plan: http://www.runnersworld.com/cda/smartcoach/

      I shared my specific 10K plan in a post here: https://changingmydestiny.wordpress.com/2011/09/06/smart-coach-training-plan-half-marathon-10k/

      Good Luck with your 10K, I’d love to hear how it goes!

      • Thanks! Hal seems to be working well, and boy do I know what you mean about non existent running. Consistency is definitely not my strong suit, especially now that fall and winter seem to be coming so quickly. I’m going to stick with it, though. If you ever need a cheerleader let me know, because goodness knows I can use all the cheerleader I can get.
        🙂

      • Always good to have a cheerleader in my corner, thanks! Are you training for a specific race? Let me know how training is going, I’d love to hear how it works out for you.

        Keep in touch,
        Addison🙂

  1. Pingback: September Monthly Goal Recap | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 10K Training Update – Week 3 & 4 | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

