Apple Picking In Julian, CA

There aren’t enough words to properly explain how much I love fall. It’s by far my favorite season. The heat is disappearing, the leaves are starting to change, and there’s a feel of holiday spirit in the air.

For the past few years I’ve wanted to visit a local apple orchard to pick apples. I always seem to miss the apple season by planning a visit in November, only to find out that the apple season is Sept – Oct.

This was the year to change all that and it was a fun local adventure, I’m sure I’ll be back next year.

 

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

After a bit of research I found Raven Hill Orchard in Julian, CA seemed to be the best around. It’s also incredibly popular so you want to make sure you get there early.

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

When you enter you’ll meet the owners (Very cool dudes) and pay for a bag. It was $10 for all you could fit in the bag. Expensive for apples, yes. But you’re not just paying of the apples, it the whole experience. I would do it again in a heart beat.

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

There were dozen and dozens of rows to wander through and several different types of apples; including, Golden Delicious, Empire, Fuji, and one other I can’t recall.

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

I went with my parents and this was my Mom’s bag. She’s already used some to bake an Apple Pie today and hardly made a dent. There’s a lot of apples in them bags.

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

…and my bag. I have so many fun recipes planned for these apples. Apples Chips, Apple Butter, Apple Crisp, Grilled Cheese with Apples, Parmesan Crisps w/ Apples, etc…

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Outside the orchard there was a little fair going on with a live country band. We were only about an hour from San Diego and it had such a small town, country feel. Beautiful, but we just ‘weren’t in Kansas anymore’ if you catch my drift.

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

We were there for about an hour wandering the aisles and just having a blast. Even my dad enjoyed the trip. I may be able to get him out there again next year. He’s also tall, so he was good to have around for the perfect apples up top…hehe.

Raven Hill Apple Orchard, Julian, CA

We couldn’t stay much longer because my Brother and Sister-In-Law were coming to visit from Virginia. I hadn’t seem them almost a year and it was great to catch up. I miss them.

We also made a trip to Home Depot to pick up some lumber for a little project for the front door. There is so many fun projects planned for the next few weeks I can hardly stand it.

Welcome Sign Progress

 

Have you ever been Apple Picking? Or any kind of Fruit/Veggie picking?

7 responses

  1. Pingback: September Monthly Goal Recap | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 10K Training Update – Week 3 & 4 | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: CrockPot Apple Butter | Changing My Destiny

  4. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  5. I found your recipe for apple butter on Pinterest and I clicked through to see what orchard you got your apples from (we like to apple pick a lot as well). My grandmother lives near Julian, and I’ve been to Raven Hill. It’s a beautiful orchard! Looks like you guys had a lovely time, cheers for the wonderful apple butter recipe!

  6. Pingback: Crock Pot Apple Butter YUM « roesmccoy

  7. Pingback: Crockpot Apple Butter « Awesome Food/Recipes

Join the Conversation!

