Baked Ziti Marsala

I’ve always considered myself a pantry cook. Meaning, I don’t really create recipes, I grab and dump. I’ll stare in the pantry for a few hours minutes then come up with some random meal. If all goes well, it turns out pretty good.

My recipes always have a little of this and a little of that.

This one has a surprise ingredient…Marsala Wine.

You may be thinking that I’ve lost my mind…but it adds the perfect kick to the sauce.

Baked Ziti

Here lies the problem of my pantry cooking method, I don’t write down how much of something I put in the recipe. I tell you this, because it’s really hard to screw up any of my recipes. If you really like garlic, add more. Have a date later? leave it out. Don’t have fresh onion? Used dried.

You get the point.

Hell, you’ll probably just make it better! (If you do, I want to hear about it!)

Baked Ziti Marsala

Serves: 2-3

1/2 Box Ziti, uncooked [I used Rigatoni, but any tube pasta will work]

2t Garlic Powder

1t Dried Oregano

1t Dried onion

1/2 Jar Pasta Sauce

1T Marsala Wine (Or any red wine)

1/4 C Parmesan Cheese, shredded (1T reserved for before baking)

3 Cups Fresh Baby Spinach

1/2 C Shredded Mozzarella

Dash of Panko (Or any breadcrumbs)

Step 1:

Cook the pasta according to the boxed instructions.

While the pasta cooks, preheat your oven to 400 degrees. Warm some pasta sauce over medium heat. I added dried onion, garlic powder, and dried oregano while it was warming up.

Once the pasta sauce starts simmering, add about 1 Tablespoon Marsala wine or other Red Wine. Allow the sauce to simmer until the alcohol cooks down and the sauce thickens. Add the parmesan cheese. Allow to simmer a few more minutes.

Baked Ziti Marsala

Step 2:

Once the pasta is done cooking, drain and add back to the pot. Stir in 3 cups Spinach and keep warm until the Spinach has wilted.

Baked Ziti Marsala

Once wilted, add the sauce and toss to coat.

Baked Ziti Marsala

Step 3:

Spray a loaf pan with cooking spray and add pasta mixture.

Baked Ziti Marsala

Add mozzarella, the remaining 1T Parmesan, and a sprinkle of breadcrumbs (I used Panko). I also sprinkled a dash of dried Italian herbs over the top. Bake for about 15-20 minutes. You want the cheese to melt and start to brown.

Baked Ziti Marsala

Serve and Enjoy!

Baked Ziti Marsala

*By the way…this makes great leftovers. If you have any left, that is.

SHOWING THE LOVE!!!

Linking To: Remodelaholic, The Shabby Creek CottageAddicted 2 Decorating, The Crafty NestThe Shabby Nest

5 responses

  1. Pingback: 9/30 Friday Morning Roundup « What's Travis Cooking?

  2. Pingback: Weekly Eats Wednesday | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  4. I saw your blog and I’m very interested in the fact that you created a green space for your dog in your yard. I want to ask how this is going.. is it still green and growing..?? I am moving into a new house with a concrete yard.. so I want to create a lawn as well in part of it. Although I have 4 dogs and I’m concerned that with so many dogs that their urine will kill the grass. Also I read on line that concrete depletes nutrients from soil, have you noticed this in your lawn? The website suggested laying a down a plastic liner on the concrete first, then the soil on top. If you have any advice, it’s appreciated.. thanks -Rita

Join the Conversation!

