Mental Dumbbells – September Edition

I love reading, but like many others, after college I was burned out. Now that I’m out of school and not reading any technical books I can spend more time reading the books that I want.

I try to read a handful of books each month on a variety of topics. I’ll share my monthly reads at the end of the month. If you have read any books that you would recommend, please do so in the comments.

Sleeping Naked is Green: How an Eco-Cynic Unplugged Her Fridge, Sold Her Car, and Found Love in 366 Days

Verdict: I LOVED this book. It was a true story about a girl that made a ‘green’ change in her life everyday for a year. It was funny, smart, and informative. It was also easy to read and touching to listen to her journey through the year. There were also some great suggestions for going green, that I hadn’t heard elsewhere.

 

The 90-Day Novel: Unlock the Story Within

Verdict: I also LOVED this book. I haven’t quite finished the book, but it’s been fun to read. Even if you’re not planning on writing a novel, you can use it for creative writing prompts. It really helps to flip through this book when I need to break out of a creative writing slump.

The 90-Day Novel: Unlock the Story Within by Alan Watt: Book Cover

 

The Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around the World

Verdict: I really enjoyed this book. It’s the story of 3 friends who give up their traditional New York based jobs to travel the world. The story is told from the point of view of each girl as they visit each destination. Parts were a bit slow, but most was enjoyable for the travel talk alone. They visited a lot of areas that I had never heard of and triggered the travel bug in me. If you’re looking for a fun, summer, beach read, consider this book.

The Lost Girls: Three Friends. Four Continents. One Unconventional Detour Around the World by Jennifer Baggett: Book Cover

 

** I was not in any way compensated for my review or recommendation of any book. These are books that I bought with my own money and decided to share with my readers. I am in no way affiliated with any of the authors or publishers. They are simply books that I have enjoyed and wanted to share. The opinions are my own and not solicited by anyone.

One response

  1. Pingback: September Monthly Goal Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

