Homemade Sausage & Egg Breakfast Muffin

There’s a famous fast food restaurant that serves these breakfast sandwiches. You know the one. The same one would probably send me a cease and desist letter as soon as I type the famous McMuffin name…oops!

I guess I should have my nonexistent lawyers standing by.

The thing is, I don’t buy them at the Golden Arches too often. Usually it’s a quick bite at an airport or a fast breakfast on our way up north to go camping. However, I can’t deny, they are pretty good.

So I decided to make my own. But I didn’t want to make just one, I wanted to make a dozen. I used this pin as my guide and set out to make a dozen breakfast sandwiches that could be frozen for a quick breakfast during the week.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

To make them a bit healthier, I used Whole Wheat English Muffins and Lean Turkey Sausage. I was also able to use less cheese because I used a sharp white cheddar & shredded cheese blend. I got the English muffins and sausage patties on sale so all the ingredients cost me less than $11. Meaning each breakfast sandwich cost less than $1.

Not bad, not bad at all.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Sausage & Egg Breakfast Muffin

Serves: 12

12 Whole Wheat English Muffins

12 Eggs

12 Lean Turkey Sausage Patties

Sharp White Cheddar or other Shredder Cheese

Cooking Spray

Aluminum Foil

Step 1:

Spray a 12 well muffin pan with the cooking spray, and heat the oven to 350 degrees. Crack one egg per muffin tin well and bake for 15-20 minutes.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Step 2:

Cook the sausage patties and set aside. I cooked them on the stovetop, but I’m sure there is a way you can bake them in the oven at the same time as the eggs. Check the package for cooking directions.

Once the eggs are cooked, pull them from the pan and set aside.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Step 3:

Set your oven to broil and split the English muffins. Place them on a baking sheet and let them toast. Keep an eye on them, this will only take a few minutes.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Step 4:

Assemble your sandwiches; Bottom of Muffin, Cheese, Sausage, Egg, Top of Muffin. I used about 1 Tablespoon of cheese per sandwich.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

For the ones you want to eat now, I put them back in a warm oven for a few minutes to melt the cheese.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Step 5:

All the other sandwiches were wrapped in foil once cooled and tucked into the freezer.

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Homemade Sausage McMuffin

Now I have another 10 sandwiches to heat and eat on a morning when I’m short on time for breakfast. I can either thaw one the night before or bake from frozen (they would just need more oven time, making them not so fast).

Dare I say these are healthier fast food?

SHOWING THE LOVE!!

Linking To: Remodelaholic, The Shabby Creek Cottage, Vanessa’s Craft Nest, Addicted 2 Decorating, Shabby Nest, Ohh Baby Designs, Funky Junk Interiors

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Weekly Eats Wednesday | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

