Candy Corn Vase & Holiday ‘Mantle’

I’ve been reading all about amazing holiday inspired mantles lately, and pinning them like crazy. There is some serious inspiration on the blogosphere this year. Unfortunately, I have not yet built my fireplace mantle, I’ve only repainted the fireplace screen so far. I have high hopes for a beautiful mantle in my future.

In the meantime I have to use a ledge.

However, before I show you my ledge (that sounds wrong), I want to show you how I repurposed two vases into one seriously cool piece of decor for less than $3.

Step 1:

Collect your supplies:

  • 2 Vases; one vase should be small enough to fit inside the other vase
  • Candy Corn
  • Flowers

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Step 2:

Place the smaller vase inside the larger vase.

Before I came up with this idea, I was going to donate the smaller vase. It’s something I’ve had with me for years and I love the bamboo design, I just didn’t have a place for it. I actually had set the smaller vase inside the larger vase in order to carry them both downstairs when genius struck!

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Step 3:

Fill the space between the two vases with candy.

I chose Candy Corn for a couple of reasons. (1) I hate the stuff, seriously I can’t stand this candy and I know for a fact that I will not eat a single piece (2) It added color to the decor (3) It’s the quintessential Halloween Candy

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Candy Corn Vase Filler

What’s that you say? You don’t have a smaller vase and you don’t want to spend any extra cash?

No Problem!

Just use empty toilet paper rolls or a empty paper towel holder in place of the smaller vase. Of course this will only work if you plan on using fake flowers, but it’s a great option!

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Step 4:

Insert the flowers of your choice. If you ended up using a small vase like I did, then feel free to add fresh flowers. For now, I have a fake flower in the vase, but I plan on picking up some fresh flowers on my next trip to the market.

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Candy Corn Vase Filler

I ended up using the vase to add just a bit more color to my holiday mantle ledge. I think it turned out quite nice for an unconventional mantle.

Candy Corn Vase Filler

A little source list for the mantle:

Piggy Bank – Homegoods

All 4 Pillar Candle Holders – Homegoods

Wall Art – Homegoods

Skull – Homemade

Branch Pumpkin – Crate & Barrel Outlet

Mummy Pumpkin – Homemade

Candles – Pier One, Homegoods, Target

Candle Holder holding the Skull – Target

Candy Corn Vase Filler

Candy Corn Vase Project Cost Breakdown:

Large & Small Vase (Already Owned) = $0

Candy Corn (Target) = $2.50

Fake Flower (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $2.50

SHOWING THE LOVE:

Linging To: Polly Want A Crafter, Between Naps on the Porch, Craft-O-Maniac, The Girl Creative, Making the World Cuter

5 responses

  1. Pingback: Project Recap – October | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: The Big Reveal: Living Room Fireplace | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

