10K Training Update – Hitting My Stride

It has been a long 6 weeks of training, with a lot of ups and downs. There were some weeks where I just rocked it, and others where I did pretty much nothing at all. It crossed my mind several times to just quit, or try to transfer my entry to the 5K, but I’m sticking with it.

This past week was the 6th week of training and I am thrilled with the progress, I finally hit my stride. I’m still worried about cutting it close on the course time limit, but I’ll just have to move my ass that day. Based on last week’s progress and the start to this week, I’m actually starting to feel confident again. I’ve increased my mileage to about 10 miles per week.

This past week has been a sigh of relief in terms of training. When I began this training program I couldn’t run at all, hell, I could barely walk very far. Then after a few weeks I started jogging for a minute at a time. Now, 6 weeks later, I’m jogging 4-5 minutes at a time. It may not seem like much to better runners, but it’s a major accomplishment for me.

The first day that I ran for 5 minutes at a time, I jumped off the treadmill and did a little dance. Oh Yes I DID!

I still have 3 weeks of training ahead of me, but I feel good.

And on a somewhat unrelated note, I picked up a new ‘toy’ that has been an amazing asset to training lately. This is Hippo…

IMG_2170

He’s not just a cute little stuffed toy, he’s also a heating pad! His belly is filled with lavender scented seeds that can be warmed. You just stick little Hippo in the Microwave for about a minute and comes out piping hot. Every so often I get a stiff neck and he has been so nice to cuddle with. I expect he’ll also be a nice little ‘hot water bottle’ for when the temperatures drop near freezing in the coming months.

The only problem with Hippo…my dog desperately wants to eat him.

5 responses

  1. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

