Bad Habit Challange – Stop the Nail Biting

I’m currently doing my Civic Duty at the (not so) local courthouse, which means I’m sitting here doing a lot of nothing. They don’t have any trials on the calendar right now, so we are just waiting. Here’s hoping that they let me go at 11:30am.

Luckily I brought my computer with me and they have free WIFI (although my phone is sadly still sitting in my car). So in the meantime, I wanted to share an update to one of the October monthly goals. The people sitting behind staring at my screen are going to get a kick out of this. (Maybe they can’t tell I can see their reflection in the screen…hmmmm) Well,if they read that, they probably do.

One of the goals that I had set for myself this month was to stop biting my nails.

At the beginning of the month, I cut them all down and gave myself a manicure. I figured if they looked nice, I might be less inclined to bite them. The problem with that logic is that I don’t intend to bite them, it just sort of happens, then I realize it later. However, I’ve been really REALLY good this month.

Day 1

Bad Habit Challege - Nails

Day 7

Bad Habit Challege - Nails

Day 12

Bad Habit Challege - Nails

Day 17 (My first French manicure on my own natural nails in probably a decade)

Bad Habit Challege - Nails

Day 23

Bad Habit Challege - Nails

Day 25

Nail Challange

I was so smitten with the silver tips, I did them again. However, as soon I sat down in the jury room they started chipping, bummer. Luckily I can fix them at home since I do all my own manicures.

Nail Challange

I have to say that I’m really proud of myself on this challenge. I haven’t bitten a single nail, even when one broke in the middle of the day. They are stronger, longer, and I feel so much prettier having longer/polished nails.

Here’s a few things that I learned this month as well as a few tips I’ve tried in the past:

  • Keep them polished, even if it’s just with a clear coat
    • (My favorite is Seche Vite, this stuff is magic as a top coat)
  • Don’t bother with the bitter nail crap, especially if you cook.
    • If you ever cook or eat finger food it will make everything taste terrible, not just your nails.
  • Keep hand/cuticle lotion with you at ALL times.
    • This made the biggest different and I was less likely to pick at the nails since they weren’t dry and peeling. Nothing beats cheapo Vaseline for conditioning the cuticles. Try the new scent (it’s either Shea Butter or Cocoa Butter…I can’t recall…but it’s AMAZING)
  • Tell people about the challenge
    • They can keep you accountable
  • As a mind game, I placed a rubber band around my wrist and snapped it every time I caught myself starting to pick or bite.
    • I don’t know if this worked, but maybe with more time I would associate nail biting with pain and stop subconsciously biting. To fully break a 25 year habit, it’s worth a try, but it will take longer than a month.

What Bad Habit are you trying to give up?

7 responses

  1. Pingback: October Monthly Goal Recap | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: DIY Nail Polish Storage | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

