Healthy Lifestyle Goal – Tracy Anderson Metamorphosis

*Today has been rough, and technology really hates me. Here’s hoping this post even goes up since my internet/phone/cable has been out for several hours. I’m running off of an air card which can be a little spotty at times.

In the journey of weight loss (which has been life long for me), my problem has never really been the workout side of things. Once I get into a rhythm of working out regularly I can often stick with it, and even look forward to it. However,I’ve been struggling lately with the type of exercise that I enjoy doing. For the past few months I was training for the 10K and even though I saw significant progress, I can’t really say that I truly liked it all the time. So as I ended my training, I decided to step back from the running and try out some other activities.

No matter how long I sit here, thinking about what I should do, the only thing I want to do is Dance.

Dancing is a constant for me, it’s a passion, it’s a pivotal as breathing. I’ve danced in one way or another my entire life, covering all types of styles, but my own insecurities held me back from really pursuing my passion of being a dancer when I was younger.

It doesn’t have to be in a class or a social setting, just dancing in my living room gives me the same happiness. When I’m dancing, I feel the most like me. The me that isn’t silenced by insecurities. The me that isn’t afraid of being judged by others. The me that isn’t worried about tomorrow.

I feel like the strong, sexy, beautiful, smart woman that I know I am deep inside.

I enjoy running…I LOVE dancing.

So for this reason, I’m setting running aside for now (although I do plan to keep up with my promise of completing the 10K this month). In place of the recent training I’m starting a new workout program, Tracy Anderson Metamorphosis.

Meta_Photo__22109_zoom

Source

Per the website…

In the newly released Metamorphosis by Tracy, you will transform your body, defy your genetics, and create the body that you never thought possible.  Prepare to be challenged throughout this 90-day program that includes 9 discs of transforming muscular structure work, designed for your specific body types,  a cardio component, and a dynamic eating plan. Experience this total transformation through your own Metamorphosis!

The program is offered for several different body types, I chose Omnicentric, as it focuses on the whole body. The other options were Abcentric, Hipcentric, or Glutecentric. You can find out more about each program on her site.

Why did I choose this program?

I’ve tried out Tracy’s Method before and I liked the mix of dance and muscle work, it was easy enough to follow once you’ve done it a few times, yet incredibly challenging. I also know several others who have used Meta and saw amazing results. So after much thought I purchased the 90 day program which included the Cardio Dance sequence as well as Muscle work DVDs for the next 90 days. The workout takes only an hour a day, which is perfect for my schedule.

What about the included Food Plan?

The food plan for Meta is by far the most controversial part of the method, and I agree with a lot of the concerns. The plan, for the most part, is incredibly low calorie. However, the lowest calorie days are meant as a reset, they are not meant to be used long term as your primary eating lifestyle. Tracy is very honest that her plan is a lot of work and takes dedication, you get out what you put in. This is not a justification, I don’t agree with the low calorie diet included in the program, but I think a lot of people generalize that the eating plan included in the plan is meant to be eaten for the rest of your life. It’s not.

With that said, I’m not following the eating plan. I agree that I would probably see faster results by following the included diet, but it’s not how I want to live. I will be following my own eating plan and using the BodyBugg to keep track of my calorie burn, so that I can refuel appropriately. I feel that this would be the right course of action for me since I’m trying to get in a healthy lifestyle, not fit into a certain dress in 90 days. Based on the past few days, my calorie burn has been so high that I could eat up to 2000 calories still lose weight, so right now I’m on track.

Source: shredesign.com via Rae on Pinterest

I started this plan several days ago and I’m already seeing incredible progress. I feel stronger and I’m seeing an increase in my endurance everyday. I feel the burn…quite literally. My abs hurt so bad after day 2 that I nearly cried when I had to sneeze.

I’m also down 5 lbs already!!!

Now, this is almost 100% water weight, but I’ll take it anyway. It brings me halfway to my monthly goal of losing 10lbs and I’m officially down 20 lbs from my highest weight. (cue the happy dance!)

Progress/Rewards

I’m all about motivation and, let’s face it, that nice “I’m healthy” feeling just doesn’t do it all the time. So in an effort to keep myself motivated I’ve created a reward plan that would ‘give’ me a reward for every 5 lb weight loss. For every 5lbs lost, I get something. It could be a pedicure, new shoes, trip to the movies, a new book, mini shopping spree at Sephora…etc.

The program works off 10 day intervals, so I’ll be posting updates every 10 days for the next 90 days. During the 10 Day updates, I will also share any rewards I have earned and any new goals.

I’m excited about this new venture. If anyone is curious, I’ll be happy to share my honest opinions of the program along the way and answer any questions you may have. If you’re doing the program already I’d love to know that too.

I’m also looking for reward suggestions…What would be on your reward list??

7 responses

  1. Congrats on the 5lbs weight loss! I wish I had the motivation like you. My reward list includes shopping sprees at Bare Escentuals, haha.🙂

  2. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  3. Just started mine today and I’m curious how many calories the bodybugg says you burn doing the cardio or the transform series so I can keep track until I can get a bodybugg. Thanks~W

    • It obviously varies depending on how hard you push yourself, but I tend to burn anywhere between 400-500 calories for both the cardio dance and muscle work. I’ve never checked the burn for the cardio on it’s own. I’m not working out full steam right now since my back is still healing, but I’d be happy to check out the cardio only burn rate in a week or so once I’m back to 100%. Let me know if you want the data! Would love to hear how you like the program as you move through the levels.

      Good Luck!
      Addison

  4. Pingback: It’s Official – Some Exciting News | Changing My Destiny

  5. I have done this program once through-not totally 6 days in a row each time but I made it through the 90 days- I got bored with the cardio dance deal and it hurt my knees so I switched to the treadmill for the 30 minutes of cardio- I did not do the eating plan as I have a husband and 2 kids to feed too but still saw results just by trying to eat healthier- my muscles were more toned and my butt definitely was more firm and lifted- I finally had flat abs even after two c-sections. I love the fact that you do not bulk up with this program as opposed to P90X. I took a break from regular exercise for about 6 weeks-busy with work and moving into a new house which I am paying for now as I just started metamorphosis over again and boy is it hard to get going again- I will turn 45 in two weeks and looking for motivation and someone out there who is also doing the program to help keep me on track🙂

  6. I just started today doing the floor work only. I’m probably twice her age so doing it all is just not realistic right now. I am hoping at some point to do better but for now it’s my best. How many calories do you burn doing the mat work out only?

Join the Conversation!

