DIY: Creating A Fall Sign With Yarn

On my recent trip to Hobby Lobby I finally found the inexpensive letters that I’ve been looking for all month. I had all but given up on finding cheap letters anywhere and had almost scrapped the whole idea. Everywhere else the letters were several dollars each, and I’m pretty cheap when it comes to this stuff.

Hobby Lobby had these 8-inch pressed cardboard letters for 40% off which made just over a dollar each.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

With a renewed sense of craftiness, I stopped past Michael’s and picked up the perfect cozy autumn colored yarn for half off. Each color of yarn was just under $2 each.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

On a completely random note…who knew yarn was so expensive these days? Also, Vanna White has her own brand of yarn…interesting.

This project was pretty quick and I did it on my lunch hour this afternoon while watching a Psych rerun on my computer, thank you Netflix.

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • 4 different colors of yarn
  • Hot Glue
  • Pressed Cardboard letters
  • Twine
  • Staple Gun

Step 2:

Decide which direction you want your yarn to be. For the 1st and 3rd letters, I wanted the yarn to run vertical. The 2nd and 4th letters would be horizontal. I started with the ‘F’ and wrapped the letter around horizontally, using hot glue throughout to keep the yarn in place.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

Once it was wrapped one time, I went back over it in the other direction.

Step 3:

Finish all the other letters.

The letter ‘A’ was the hardest since the letter had angles so I had to get creative on how to wrap it neatly. I used a lot more glue on the ‘A’ which helped keep everything neat and allowed me to wrap it pretty quickly.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

Step 4:

Using a hot glue gun, glue the 4 letters together. I used lots of glue for this to make sure they would stay together after being hung up.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

Step 5:

Connect some twine to the back of the letters using the staple gun. Hang up and enjoy.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

The sign is actually meant for the front door post to replace the Halloween sign, but it was too dark outside to share that picture, so my pantry door was all to happy to step in.

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

'Fall' Yarn Letter Sign

Project Cost Breakdown:

4 Pressed Cardboard Letters (Hobby Lobby) = $5

4 Different Colors of Yarn (Michaels) = $8

Hot Glue Gun & Glue (Already Owned) = $0

Twine (Already Owned) = $0

Staple Gun (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $13

5 responses

  1. hi to all changingmydestiny.wordpress.comers this is my first post and thought i would say hello to you all –
    regards speak again soon
    gazza

  2. Pingback: November Monthly Recap | Changing My Destiny

  3. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  4. Pingback: 2 Year Home Anniversary – A Look Back | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

