Thanksgiving & Black Friday 2011

Where has this past week gone? I feel like I’ve spent the past few days in a dream like state. I never intended to take a break from blogging, but I found myself unexpectedly busy and sleepy. Last week, I worked Mon-Wed, on very little sleep, since things were just incredibly overwhelming to say the least at work. Luckily Wednesday was my last day at work for 12 days!

On Thursday I packed up my dog, a crap load of stuff and drove to my parents house.

They live near a golf course, not on the golf course..just in case you were wondering.

Thanksgiving was pretty low key and filled with excellent food, of which, I have exactly zero pictures. But it was all good, trust me. A few hours later (8pm to be exact) we packed up the car and headed out for our yearly Mother/Daughter Black Friday Shopping tradition.

First up was the local outlet mall which opened at 9pm.

Getting there early means we get front row parking and are able to leave very easily once the crowds descend.

Caffeine was required, in the form of a Cafe Mocha with 2 pumps Chai.

Black Friday Fuel

A few of the favorite stores were…

  • Banana Republic
  • Tommy Hilfiger
  • Calvin Klein
  • PUMA
  • BCBG
  • GAP
  • Fossil
  • Kitchen Gadget Store
  • Cosmetics Store
  • Harry & David
  • and so on…

Around 1am we stopped at Ruby’s and refueled on burgers and fries. We may just be delirious and starving, but these are pretty much the best burgers EVER.

Rubys

After the outlets we stopped past Macy’s where I lost my mind while standing in a crazy long line. We were told we couldn’t use any of the coupons on our purchase so needless to say, Macy’s will not be on our list next year.

At 4am we stopped at Sports Authority to get our free gift cards and pick up a few things, then over to Dicks Sporting Goods and Target. This brought us to just before 7am and we were dead tired and headed home to sleep.

So…onto the good stuff. What did I get.

Black Friday Goodies 2011

Banana Republic (50% off everything):

  • 3 tops for me
  • 2 tops as a Christmas Gift for someone else (not pictured)

Tommy Hilfiger (40% off):

  • 1 sweater as a Christmas Gift for someone else (not pictured)

Cosmetics Store (10% off):

  • Clinique All About Eyes Cream
  • Clinique All About Eyes Serum Roller

Adidas (Various Sales):

  • Hat (not pictured)
  • Socks

Fossil (Various Sales):

  • 1 Pair of Earrings & a Ring at 50% off

Target (Various Sales):

  • The Big Bang Theory Season 3 & 4 (Marked down to $12)
  • Bic Lighters (not on sale, just needed them)

Sports Authority:

  • 2 pairs of Yoga Pants
  • 1 Pair Workout Shorts
  • 1 Pair Running Shoes

Dicks Sporting Goods:

  • 1 sweater
  • 1 Shirt as a Christmas Gift for someone else (Not pictured)

Nordstrom’s (these were bought on Sunday…but the deal was Black Friday Worthy):

  • 2 pairs of Jessica Simpson Pumps on Clearance (about $25 each)

Black Friday Shoes 2011

Black Friday 2011

Black Friday 2011

Black Friday 2011

Black Friday 2011

After shopping for nearly 11 hours straight, Friday was for resting and relaxing in the backyard which is exactly what we did. I also think a Big Bang Theory marathon happened in there as well.

Backyard View

I’ll be around the house for most of my vacation, but I did decide to ‘get away’ for Saturday night and stayed at a beautiful Marriott in San Diego for the night. I arrived just in time to watch the sunset over the Marina from the balcony.

San Diego Marina

I wandered around downtown for a bit, relaxed, read, and got some writing done. It was a really great evening and then I got to hang with my best friend sister for a few hours on Sunday. Monday was all about unpacking, running errands, and hanging out with this little guy who was exhausted from playing with my moms pups.

IMG_2439

So while I can’t say I got anything done around the house lately, I have had a great week so far and can’t wait to jump back into regular blogging and house projects over the next few days.

2 responses

  1. Pingback: November Monthly Recap | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: 2011 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

