DIY Christmas Ornament 7: No Mess Glitter

I have a love hate relationship with Glitter. As a girly girl, I love sparkly things, but it’s so messy. I end up wearing glitter for the rest of the day, finding it in weird places, like behind my ears. How did it get there…I still don’t know.

I used to have a lot of glittery Christmas ornaments, but I ended up throwing them away a few years back when I just couldn’t handle the mess anymore. So this year, I decided to come up with a way to get my glitter fix and remain shiny flake free.

Then end result…glittery, lovely, and it’s all on the INSIDE!

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Clear Glass Ornaments (Any Size)
  • Baby Oil
  • Glitter
  • Piece of computer or ‘writing’ paper

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Step 1:

Remove the caps from your ornaments.

Add about 2 teaspoons of Baby Oil inside the ornament and swirl around until the entire inside is covered. After swirling, tip it upside down and let the excess drain out. Unfortunately I wasn’t able to take any pictures of this step. You’d be surprised at how difficult it is to hold a heavy camera while swirling something filled with baby oil.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Tip:I tipped them into the baby oil lid to let them drain.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Step 2:

Create your paper funnel (for inserting the glitter) by rolling the piece of paper at an angle and securing with tape.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Step 3:

Pour in about 1 Tablespoon of the glitter into the ornament (for smaller ornaments). Feel free to add more, you’ll be able to pour our the excess in a minute.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Step 4:

Swirl, Swirl, Swirl.

delete

No Mess Glitter Ornament

When you’ve covered nearly all of it, cover the opening with your thumb and shake. That should cover the last bits inside the ornament.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Step 5:

Replace cap. Hang from tree. Repeat with other colors.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

I did one more in black, because I was hoping the dark glitter would help the show process better in pictures. It didn’t, but the ornament came out pretty.

No Mess Glitter Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown (per ornament):

Clear Glass Ornament (JoAnn’s) = $.50

Baby Oil (Target) = $2 (I bought a travel size, since I don’t like the smell of baby oil and won’t use it for anything but these ornaments)

Glitter (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $2.50 (Additional ornaments would be $0.50

Linking To: Funky Junk Interiors

8 responses

  1. Pingback: DIY Christmas Ornament 8: Spray Painted | Changing My Destiny

  2. I saw someone use floor wax to make these, too. I neither own floor wax or baby oil, and I’m not about the go to the store to get some, so I used some spray adhesive I already and and squirted it in there. It worked beautifully!! Thanks for the inspiration!

  3. These are just so creative! I tried the ones with the paint swirled inside. Now I want to try the glittery ones–being behind (inside) the glass really makes them sparkle even more. The black one is my favorite!

  4. I found instructions to make this type of ornaments on Pinterest. It said to used Mop N Glo… had to buy a bottle to do it too. but I made some beautiful ornaments this Christmas. I try to make ornaments every Christmas so I love seeing the different types you made. Thanks for the tips!

  5. Do you have any advice for getting the baby oil/glitter to evenly coat the inside of the bulb? Yours are gorgeous, but mine ended up kind of blotchy.

  6. Hey! Thanks for this tutorial. Your ornaments are beautiful! I’m wondering if after a couple of years the ornaments have held up with just the baby oil holding the glitter in place? If you had to do this again, would you do it the same way?

Join the Conversation!

