DIY Christmas Ornament 13: Felt Tree

While this ornament is a little more time intensive than other ornaments I’ve done, it really is quite easy and BONUS…It turns out the cutest little felt tree I’ve ever seen. I also had an adorable little helper when it was time to take pictures of the finished tree, I’ll introduce you below.

Felt Tree Ornament

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Felt (1 sheet for each color you want. I used 1 sheet of olive green and 1 sheet of cream)
  • 1 Cork
  • Thread (I used the crochet thread that I had purchased for thisornament) & large Needle
  • 4 Fake Berries or Large Beads
  • Tacky Glue & Hot Glue/Gun
  • Basic Wire Ornament Hanger
  • Scissors

Felt Tree Ornament

Step 2:

My tree had 4 levels so you’ll need to choose which color will be the bottom level of your tree and cut 3 circles of felt that are the same size. I used a canning lid to make this first layer. These should be the larges of the 4 circles.

Felt Tree Ornament

Felt Tree Ornament

Step 3:

Choose the color felt you want to use for the next level and cut 3 circles of that color, slightly smaller than the previous circles.

Felt Tree Ornament

Tip: I’m sure I’m not alone in cutting shaky circle out of felt. To help me keep the circles consistent I found things around my house to help make the circles. For the 3rd level, I used a TP roll pressed onto an ink pad to create the circle on the felt. Then it was just as easy as cutting along the line. Although if you do this, be light handed with the ink as you don’t want it to show after you cut the circles.

Felt Tree Ornament

Keep going with the additional levels of your tree.

Felt Tree Ornament

When you’re done, you will have 4 levels of felt that will create your tree. Each level should be made up of 3 felt circles, giving you a total of 12 circles.

Felt Tree Ornament

Step 4:

Using tacky glue, glue the 3 layers of felt together for each level. This step is to make sure that each layer of the tree is study enough to actually look like a tree in the end. Depending on how thick your felt is, you may need more or less than 3 layers. I used basic felt sheets purchased from Michael’s and 3 layers worked perfectly.

Felt Tree Ornament

Now, instead of having 12 pieces of felt, you should have 4 thick pieces of felt.

Felt Tree Ornament

Step 5: (I really hope this makes sense)

Thread a large needle with the string or crochet thread and make a knot at one end of the thread. You are going to thread each layer of felt onto the thread, separating each level with a bead or fake berry.

Starting with the bottom layer, push the needle up through the bottom level of tree.

Felt Tree Ornament

I used fake foam berries that I pulled of a plant I had in the house, but you could use big beads as well.

Felt Tree Ornament

Thread the needle through the berry.

Felt Tree Ornament

Start making your tree by alternating felt with berry…

Felt Tree Ornament

…until you have a complete Christmas tree.

Felt Tree Ornament

At the top of the tree, make a small loop out of the thread and tie a knot, cut off the excess. You can then use a basic wire ornament hanger to hang the ornament.

Felt Tree Ornament

Tip: Use some homemade mod podge and glitter to give the top berry a little sparkle.

Step 6:

Cut a cork down using a straight edge blade. Using hot glue, apply it to the bottom of the tree.

Felt Tree Ornament

I think this ranks as the cutest ornament so far, I absolutely love it.

Felt Tree Ornament

Felt Tree Ornament

Felt Free Ornament

Behind the scenes: My hands always shake when I’m trying to hold the DSLR with only one hand and the ornament in the other for pictures. So I had to enlist a little help in holding the ornament during the photoshoot.

Meet my little balloon dog…He did a great job.

Felt Tree Ornament

Project Cost Breakdown (per ornament):

  • Felt (1 sheet for each color you want) (Already Owned) = $0
  • 1 Cork (Already Owned) = $0
  • Thread (I used the crochet thread that I had purchased for thisornament) & large Needle  (Already Owned) = $0
  • 4 Fake Berries or Large Beads (Already Owned) = $0
  • Tacky Glue & Hot Glue/Gun (Already Owned) = $0
  • Basic Wire Ornament Hanger (Already Owned) = $0
  • Scissors (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $0 FREE!

Felt Tree Ornament

The balloon dog is heavy light pink glass and looks like a balloon dog in every way, he’s adorable. I picked him up for cheap at Homegoods a while back, but I believe you can still find it at retail stores online.

Linking To: Funky Junk Interiors

One response

Join the Conversation!

