Simplify Life – Getting A Library Card

When I was growing up, my mom taught me all about the joys of the local library. I LOVED reading and trips to the library were a little like being let loose in the kids version of ‘Supermarket Sweep’. In fact, I still wish I could just run through with a cart, sweeping things off the shelf. I could (and often would) spend hours sitting on the floor, among the stacks of books, barely able to make it out of the building before finishing the first one.

Through High School and College, I burned out. Reading turned into a chore. I never found time to read the things I really wanted, when stacks of Psychology and Statistic books loomed nearby.

After college, work took over and life just got busier. I have stacks of books all over my house and filling up my Kindle, but it’s a struggle to make the time. However, since this journey is all about starting over, living a life you love…I decided to go back to my roots.

Source

I LOVE you Public Library!

The other evening I tracked down a library nearby and got my new library card. Since it was a brand new card, I was limited to just a few items this trip, but next time I can check out up to 30 books!

Source

The greatest thing about the library is that it’s FREE. If my closest branch doesn’t have what I want then I can order it from another branch for as little as 25 cents. No more expensive book purchases for me this year, and I can browse almost any book or magazine I want.

This also got me thinking about how much I would like a library in my own home someday; although that contradicts the concept of simplifying a bit.

This is dream home material. :::Sigh:::

Someday…

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

2 responses

  1. Pingback: Mental Dumbbells – January 2012 | Changing My Destiny

  2. Pingback: January 2012 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

