DIY: Succulent Terrarium

I feel like I should point out early on, that this is DIY for a succulent terrarium that I made recently. However, this is not a tutorial on how to keep them alive. My gardening skills are a little hit or miss and I usually learn how to grow something by following the method of watching something die, then thinking… “Ok, next time water the plant!” Doh!

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Cactus Soil (although I have succulents growing in the dirt in my backyard, so I’m not entirely sure this was necessary)
  • Pebbles/Small Rocks
  • Small Succulents
  • Large Glass Vase

DIY Succulent Terrarium

I found the glass vase at (surprise surprise) Homegoods a few months back. I’ve mentioned before that they own my soul, right? I’ve been using it to hold my K-Cups, but this is a far prettier vase filler. Another great option would be a Apothecary Jar. If these survive, I plan on making a few more for around the house.

Step 2:

Pour in a layer of small pebbles to help with drainage.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Step 3:

Fill the vase with some Cactus Dirt then start adding your succulents. After they are in place, add some more dirt to ensure the roots are covered. I recommend picking small plants so they have room to grown. However, if you’re like me, you’ll expect them to die soon and want to enjoy them at a larger size. What? I’m preparing for the future!

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Ok, in all seriousness, I really do care if these plants live and I will take care of them.

I promise.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

DIY Succulent Terrarium

I’m actually kind of loving them right now…so I decided to use a few more to make a little succulent vignette in my kitchen.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

DIY Succulent Terrarium

DIY Succulent Terrarium

It is surprisingly difficult to get a good photograph of all three since they are next to 2 windows. Sorry for the glare.

Project Cost Breakdown (for the Terrarium):

Glass Vase (Already Owned) = $0

Small Bag of Cactus Soil (Lowes)  = $4

Bag of Small Pebbles (Home Depot) = $3

1 Small Succulent (Home Depot) = $2

2 Medium Succulents (Home Depot) = $6

Total Project Cost: $15

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Linking To: Between Naps On The Porch, Craft-O-Maniac, The Girl Creative, Making the World Cuter, Everything Under the MoonToday’s CreativeGinger Snap Crafts, Very Merry Vintage Style, Savvy Southern Style, The Shabby Creek CottageBeyond The Picket FenceThe Artsy Girl ConnectionBetween U & MeAddicted 2 Decorating, Funky Junk Interiors, The Craft Nest, The Shabby Nest, Dear Creatives, Ohh Baby Designs, 5 Minutes Just For Me, The Not So Functional Housewife, Positively Splendid

20 responses

  1. I love succulents:)…….I’d like to invite you to share this and anything else you would like
    @CountryMommaCooks “Link & Great” party this weekend……Have a beautiful day!

  2. Great tutorial! Terrariums must be back in style or maybe it’s just the nastiness of winter that makes us want to bring the outside in. I made one too but am anxious to try one with succulents! Nice job

  3. How are they doing? I planted my last summer, and it was sad after a month, depressed after two, and dead after three. I did everything I could.😦
    Let me know how yours survive. I hope they last much longer than mine did. It was so pretty…

    • It’s a little dicey right now. We’re in negotiations over how much water and sunlight they need, apparently I’m not providing enough🙂 I hope they make it, they add some much needed life to the kitchen.

      • It seemed so easy. Luckily the plants are inexpensive. Next time I will experiment with different sun locations and water conditions. Succulents aren’t as easy as people made it out to be, that’s for sure, but they’re beautiful when you can get it right.

      • Agreed! Total pain, but gorgeous if they work out. I have some outside that I left for dead and they are thriving, so I’m thinking lots of natural light is a must.

  4. Pingback: DIY – Upcycled Herb Cans | Changing My Destiny

  5. Pingback: January 2012 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  6. Pingback: Succulent Green Thumb… « Everyday Stilettos

  7. Pingback: A Look Back at 2012 | Changing My Destiny

  8. Succulents are really pretty easy to grow. I had a few left over from a pot & just threw them over by the fence & they grew. I have also grown them in moss, no soil involved. Love that look as well. I used an old soda pop box, filled a compartment w/wet moss, & stuck a plant in. I have babies all over the place, I have actually emptied the box several times because the plants were too big, so i had to transplant them. They need water, but not drowning, they need lots of sun.

  9. Pingback: New Fruity Terrariums | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

