Weight Loss Reward: 20 lb

Usually Tuesdays are a tough day for me. I have some important calls at work that take a lot of prep every week and they stress me out. No matter how long I’ve been doing this, it still makes me nervous to talk to smart people. Lucky thing, I’m pretty good at making people think I know what I’m talking about.

 

Other lucky thing…

I’ve lost 20 lbs!!

 

Wow…terrible transition…but let’s keep going.

I’ve been working really hard to clean up my diet since the holidays are over, and I’ve also been slowly getting back into a workout routine since the back injury. Turns out it’s all paying off! I’ve been steadily dropping and last week I finally hit a total of 20lbs down. Actually I’m down 24.7 as of this morning, and it feels so good.

Since losing weight is slow, tiring, boring, exhausting, and sometimes depressing…I have to give myself a goal. Every 5 lb loss gets a reward and the 20 lb reward was a shopping spree at Aaron Brothers for Art Supplies.

Art Supplies - Reward

I’ve been wanting to get back into painting for a while and I have a great idea for a series in the Spare Bedroom so this was perfect. It was too much fun to wander through AB and pick out new paints, brushes, canvases, and a few sketch books. The added bonus was that AB is doing their Penny Sale right now so I every second item only cost me a penny. The few that weren’t on the sale were on clearance and marked 50% off.

Technically I get another reward at 25 lbs, but the next reward I want is some art that is pretty expensive, so I’m focused on losing 10lbs for that one.

 

Do you ever use a reward as motivation when trying to get healthy? Do they work for you? If not, how do you stay motivated?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: January 2012 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

