A Day of Eats

So after my recent weight loss update post, I had quite a few emails asking me about what I’ve been eating lately. How I eat always make the biggest impact on my weight loss, but I (like a lot of people) don’t like ‘diet’ food. I don’t like air crisped snack bars that taste like packing Styrofoam and I’m just not satisfied by prepackaged freezer meals; I’m hungry an hour later.

I don’t ever want to feel like I’m on a diet. Even while I’m trying to lose weight, I feel it’s important to eat for the body I want and in a way that I can maintain long term. What I eat changes on a daily basis, I eat similar meals everyday, but I don’t usually eat the same thing each day.

For fun, I took pictures of everything I ate on yesterday. 

Better Oats Chai Spiced Oatmeal with 1 Cup Blueberries, Flax Meal, and Walnuts

In general I like oatmeal, but I like it plain and dry. Plain to me is without sugar, butter, or milk. Prepackaged oats are easy, but so many of them come in flavors like Maple, Brown Sugar, or Apple Cinnamon. These are always too sweet for me. If I’m not making my own oatmeal, I use Better Oats. They are prepackaged and only take minutes in the microwave. The other brand I like is Trader Joe’s frozen Steel Cut oats.

Blueberry Oatmeal

LOTS of baby spinach & half a container Trader Joe’s Rosemary Chicken & Wild Rice

I eat a lot of Spinach each day, this salad had about 4 cups chopped up. I found the Chicken & Rice meal at Trader Joe’s and they are delicious (they are fresh made in their deli section). There are two servings per container and cook up easy in the Microwave or Oven. If I put it over spinach then I use the rice flavor as a dressing.

Rosemary Chicken & Rice over Spinach

Sometime between Lunch and Dinner I snacked on a serving of Hershey Dark Kisses. I refuse to give up all sweets, it’s not realistic for me. If I do, I’ll end up eating a whole cake in a few weeks and gaining all the weight back. Moderation.

Dark Chocolate Hershey Kisses

Dinner was Fish Tacos, without the avocado (I didn’t have any in the house).

I had some cabbage that was going bad so I decided to make my favorite fish tacos. They are easy, fast, and delicious.

Fish Tacos 

So that’s it, a typical day of eats for me. I’m not a big snacker at night and I keep a mason jar full of water next to me all day, usually drinking between 10-14 glasses a day. Luckily I like my water plain and I prefer water over other beverages.

 

A few other questions I got after the weight loss post.

 

Are you still following the Tracey Anderson Metamorphosis program?

Yes! I have restarted the program since I had to take a few weeks off around Christmas. Technically it’s a 90 day program, but I’m using it as a cardio/muscle program so I’m not very concerned about whether I finish it in 3 months as long as I keep at it.

 

Do you track calories? How?

Yes, I do track calories. Usually I wear a Bodybugg because it gives me an accurate overview of my calories burned so that I can fuel properly. However, over the past few weeks I’ve been testing out the My Fitness Pal website and Android app. The phone app has a bar code scanner that allows you to scan the bar code of foods you eat and it automatically brings up the nutrition info for you. I’ve been pretty impressed so far.

 

Do you have any Before/After pictures?

Yes, I did take before pictures, and I plan to take new pictures every month as I lose more. I don’t plan on posting them until I’ve made significantly more progress. At some point I may feel comfortable sharing them, but not yet.

 

In Other News…

The tile is up on the fireplace!

My dad came over today and help me with it, then we went out for lunch. It was actually a really fun day. I’ll wait to share which style I chose and a final picture until we get the grout finished on Monday. However, it looks amazing and I can’t wait to share it with you.

Join the Conversation!

