How To Store Your Favorite Magazine Recipes

I already shared my love for ripping apart magazines to create inspiration books; but I also have a thing for ripping out stacks of recipes from every magazine I can find. It’s a great way to find delicious recipes, but storing those loose pages is a nightmare.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Every month the stack gets bigger and bigger. I can’t find anything in it and there’s not much luck that I’m going to flip through that stack for dinner ideas. Granted some are small enough to cut and file in my Recipe Box, but others are not as convenient. I used to write them up on individual index cards, but let’s face it, that’s just painful and tedious.

So I came up with another way to keep the recipe intact, easy to file, and the pictures gets to remain with the recipe (BONUS!).

Start with a recipe you pulled out of a magazine/newspaper/brochure/newsletter, etc.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Get an X-acto blade (or scissors) and a blank index card.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Using the blade, cut out the recipe and a section of the picture.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Unfortunately most won’t fit perfectly on the card. Luckily, it’s easy to fix.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Find a convenient place in the recipe and cut it in half and secure to the card using a glue stick or tape. I usually use tape, they seem to hold up better.

Magazine Recipe Storage

On the back of the card, I tape the picture. I try to do this with every recipe so I can easily flip through the pictures instead of the reading through the recipe. We eat with our eyes first anyway, right?

Now would be a good time to make a note on the card about where the recipe came from. This is especially helpful if you are a blogger and want to properly source the recipe in a future post.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Now, my magazine recipes are the same format as all my other recipes and can be easily filed in my recipe box. Where I’m now much more likely to flip through them instead of just leaving them in a file or cabinet somewhere.

Magazine Recipe Storage

Magazine Recipe Storage

4 responses

  1. Pingback: January 2012 Recap | Changing My Destiny

  2. My husband will love you for this post! He always complains that my magazine recipes are all over the place! Thankfully I have become a Pinterest addict and try to organize most of my recipes there…especially since many of the magazines now always post their recipes online. But for those that I have stuffed away…they will be living a new life now🙂 Thanks for sharing!

  3. Pingback: Organizing Magazines . . . « chicdiscretion

  4. Pingback: How I Organize Magazines « STYLE + WHIMSY

Join the Conversation!

