Design Challenge: Spare Bedroom

Earlier this month I shared my Garage before pictures. What I haven’t mentioned is that I’ve also started redoing the Spare Bedroom this month. The spare bedroom has been a challenge in every way.

K10036663_11_0

When I purchased the home it was all green. The walls were sage green, the carpet was (and still is) sage green. Every room in the house looked the same way, lots of green. The wall color is actually quite nice, but there is just so much of it that it was overwhelming.

At first this room was supposed to be an art/writing studio, not a spare bedroom. I planned on outfitting it with a large drafting desk and a comfortable chair. It was supposed to be a place where I could go and feel artistic. However, a few months after I moved in my brother decided to move across country and offered me a queen mattress/bed frame. My logic brain kicked in and decided that a Spare Bedroom would be smarter than a second office/studio.

In the meantime I had painted the room a mix of lime green and dark DARK grey. It was a great theory, but it looked awful. So if you’re counting, that’s two changes for this room already. In the matter of a few months I had changed the plan from art studio to spare bedroom, and had changed the color from sage green to a green/grey mix.

Once the Spare Bedroom decision was made I thought a neutral color was the way to go, so off to Lowes I went AGAIN.

This time around I picked a light brown. The color really isn’t bad, but I just don’t love it. The bummer is that I had started buying accessories for a brown room.

Spare Bedroom - Before

At some point I realized I had no idea what I was doing so it became a storage room. Most of the time I leave the door closed and try to forget the room is even there.

Spare Bedroom - Before

Even though the brown theme isn’t bad, it’s just not working. Once again I’m left with what felt like a failed design.

Spare Bedroom - Before

Spare Bedroom Remodel - Before

I’m not just giving up on this room, so I have a new plan. I realize there is not a a lot of direct light into this room, even with the blinds open. The colors need to be light and I’m going to stick with a neutral theme. I plan on going with white wainscoting/bead board and grey walls. This will keep the room light and allow me to bring in a few fun accent colors.

I’ve already started purging the room and organizing all the random stuff in the pictures above. I also tried my hand at refinishing a standing mirror. This mirror was also given to me by my brother, but the wood color was just a little too light for me. I wanted this piece to be a darker finish to pop against the white moulding.

Spare Bedroom Mirror - Before

Spare Bedroom Mirror - Before

Unfortunately in true form to this room, my original plan didn’t work. Like everything else with this room, it’s not bad, but I just don’t like it. The wood grain is too dark and the rest of the wood is too light.

Don’t mind the uneven sanding which didn’t help the issue.

Spare Bedroom Mirror

Spare Bedroom Mirror

So the mirror is on hold for now. My first reaction was to paint it dark brown or break out the ORB, but I don’t know if that’s the right move. I think I might want to bring in the ‘pops’ of color in the mirror so it might end up an aqua color.

I’ve never had a room give me this much trouble before, but I suppose each miss just puts me one step closer to a hit, right? RIGHT? :::sigh:::

In the meantime I’m pulling inspiration from everywhere. This is a little bit of what I’ve found as inspiration for the finished room…here’s hoping things start going right in this room from here on out.

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

Pinned Image

Via

7 responses

  1. Guest rooms are always so hard to work out. When I tried to pull mine together I tried to grab extra stuff from all over the house. I think the white moulding and grey walls will look awesome.

    Where did you get the art in the room?

    • Agreed! The guest room seems to be the hardest so far. I love the idea of using things from around the house, that’s probably what I’ll do as well. The framed art came from Home Goods.

  2. Pingback: Introducing the Office – Before | Changing My Destiny

    • The one near the end of the post, all gray with the big 3D flowers on it, is from Anthropologie. It’s beautiful in person, but expensive. If I can ever find it on sale, I’d love to use that in my room instead of the Spare Bedroom.🙂

Join the Conversation!

