What I Want Now – Winter Skincare

Living in Southern California, winter is mild. Having lived near the beach most of my life, I had never really experienced a dry skin winter, but things have changed. Moving inland has hampered more than my love for an ocean breeze. I also have some serious dry skin during the winter and it took me the entire cold season last year to figure out the perfect winter skincare routine for me.

In reality, the winters anywhere in So Cal are mild in comparison to other parts of the country. I don’t deal with snow or below freezing temperatures. I never use to be the type of person who changed their skincare routine with the season, I’ve been very lucky to only deal with an occasional breakout. Maybe it’s because I’m almost 30 or maybe it really has something to do with the move inland, I’m not sure. What I do know is that this works for me.

winter-skincare_Batch-1 

I’ve been washing my face with Cetaphil for years and it’s never let me down.If I don’t have Cetaphil then I’ll use Dove, they are my favorites. I also use a Clairsonic face brush year round, usually only at night. After washing my face, while my skin is still damp I use the Bio Oil, it’s the only thing that stops my face from getting too dry. I also use this year around, but I use it twice a day during the winter months. During the summer I use a lighter sunscreen, but when I need something thicker I always go for Clinique Superdefense, it’s thick but soaks in without feeling greasy.  The only other thing, not listed, is Clinique All About Eyes. I don’t always use it everyday, but I always keep it in my medicine cabinets for the puffy eye days.

1. Clinique Superdefense SPF 25 Age Defense Moisturizer Dry Combination $44.50

2. Cetaphil Gentle Cleanser $9

3. Bio Oil Scar Treatment $11

winter-skincare_Batch-2

Once a week I use a face scrub in the shower, Khiel’s Pineapple Papaya Scrub is my absolute favorite. It’s very gentle and works miracles. You don’t need a lot to do the job, so usually lasts a long time. I tend to jump from body lotion to body lotion, always looking for a new favorite, but always come back to two. For super dry days I use Vaseline Intensive Rescue; but my usual ‘go to’ winter lotion is Lubriderm Daily Nourishing. I could say it’s for the great formula, but really it’s because the smell reminds me of summer and it isn’t greasy. For the days when I need a little extra moisture for hands or face, I use Josie Maran Argan Oil Stick. It’s easy to carry around, smells great, and works like a charm. I also keep lip balm with me 24/7, but I don’t have a favorite brand. I have them all over the house, and in every purse, so I’ll use whatever is within reach. 

4. Khiel’s Pineapple Papaya Facial Scrub $28

5. Lubriderm Daily Nourishing Radiance Lotion (with Shea  and Cocoa Butter) $9

6. Josie Maran Argan Oil Moisturizing Stick $22

 

What are your winter skincare favorites?

One response

  1. Pingback: January 2012 Recap | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

