January 2012 Recap

It’s been a busy busy month, but probably the greatest in a long time.

At the start of the month I wrote my Future Letter and celebrated my dad’s birthday with a homemade Golf Cake.

Golf Birthday Cake

I also created a Gratitude Jar in an effort to start a new Thanksgiving Tradition. Now, everyday I add a slip of paper to the jar listing something for which I’m grateful. It’s already filling up which reminds me everyday that life is pretty great even when it doesn’t feel that way. These will be fun to read through over the Thanksgiving holiday.

Gratitude Jar

I introduced you to my very messy garage, developed a whole house cleaning plan, signed up for a library card, and made a melt in your mouth Balsamic Pork Sandwich.

Balsamic Pork Sandwich w/ Cilantro Cabbage

Later in the month I planted a lovely Succulent Terrarium (which is still alive!), shared how I store the  recipes I pull from magazines, and professed my love for Word Art & Chevron designs.

DIY Succulent Terrarium

Magazine Recipe Storage

Perhaps the biggest accomplishment was that I finally finished the living room fireplace.

Before:

Fireplace tile surround

After:

Fireplace Remodel

After finishing the fireplace I slowed things down a bit and skipped a few days of blogging; however, things did not stop completely. I built my own photography light box, turned some soup cans into an herb garden, made some delicious biscotti, and shared my winter skincare routine.

DIY Photo Light Box

Soup Can Herb Garden

Chocolate Cranberry Walnut Biscotti

In addition to the above I also reached a few weight loss milestones since I lost 25 lbs. However, I haven’t made any mention of it beyond this post because right after posting my scale broke. It told me I weighed 0 lbs. So I purchased a new scale at Costco that was a piece of crap. It worked only when it wanted to, and told me I gained 20 lbs overnight. I have purchased another new scale, but I’m still having trouble getting a consistent reading. So for now, I’m just going by how I feel and how my clothes fit (which is better than before).

Can you believe January is already over?

3 responses

  1. Pingback: A Look Back at 2012 | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

