Weekly Eats & Grocery Budget

After last week’s post, a few people asked me if I am making meals solely with what I buy each week. I’m not. I have a better than average stocked freezer and pantry which allows me to make a lot of meals using only some of what I buy each week. In fact, often my weekly grocery trips is restocking my pantry or freezer/fridge. For example I did not use the pasta sauce I bought this week, but I didn’t have any in the house so I picked up a few jars on sale to use in the future. I also didn’t eat the Activia yogurt this week, but it was very cheap ($1 per 4 pack), and I can freeze it in an ice cube tray and use it for smoothies in the coming weeks.

I was also asked about which coupon websites I reference. These are my favorites. I have them in my Google reader and keep an eye out for sales all week, gather up my coupons and shop one day per week. I did a post on Target Coupon Shopping, here, which gave a few more tips.

Krazy Coupon Lady

Totally Target

Groceries 2/29/2012

Groceries 2/29/2012

Groceries 2/29/2012

Grocery Total 2/18/2012 : $46.44

I did go over budget this week by $6.44, primarily because I did most of my shopping at Target and used my Target Debit Card to get the extra %5 off the bill. My grocery shopping was mixed with other shopping, so while I did get a better deal, I didn’t pay with cash and was a little off in my math this week. Oh well, it’s a process. Since I went over during this trip, next week will be reduced by $7 to keep the budget even.

Vons: $8

Eggs (1 Dozen)  FREE
Green Onions (2 bunches)
Mushrooms (2 containers)
POM Wonderful Juice (16 oz) (2 bottles)

Albertsons: $8.77

Barilla Pasta Sauce (2 jars)
Fresh Carrots (5lb) DOG TREATS
Broccoli Florets (1 bag)
Hunt’s Tomato Sauce (1 can)
Hunt’s Ketchup (1 bottle)

Target: $29.67

Campbell’s Slow Cooker Soup (2 bowls)
Tazo Tea (2 boxes)
1 Gallon Milk
Imperial Stick Butter (1 package)
Cheeze-It’s (2 boxes)
Shredded Cheddar Cheese (1 package)
Lunch Meat (Ham) (1 package)
Activia Yogurt (2 – 4 packs)
Paper Towels (1 roll)    FREE
Clif Z Bar Bonus Pack (2 bulk size boxes = 36 bars) CLEARANCE

Here are a few of the meals that I had this week. If there is a meal in which you want the recipe, let me know. If it’s not something I plan to post, I can share it with you via email.

Chicken Pesto Shells

Chicken Pesto Shells

Soft Boiled Eggs and Toast

Shrimp with Veggies/Brown Rice/Walnuts & Feta

The veggies/rice/feta mix was great, but I think I cooked the shrimp too long.

Shrimp Potato Bowl

Baked Potato with Balsamic roasted mushrooms & White Cheddar

Balsamic Mushroom & White Cheddar Baked Potato

2 responses

  1. Pingback: February Recap & Mental Dumbbells | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

