February Recap & Mental Dumbbells

I’m not sure what happened to February. Things started out well but the month really got away from me in the end. All of a sudden I glance at a calendar and it’s March, how did that happen? I have a bunch of catching up to do, so please bear with me if I bombard you with posts for the next few days.

First up, a little February Recap.

In doing a little research for a project I lined up for March, more on that in a bit, I dug into two ‘green’ books in Feb. I was hoping to get through more than 2 but between work and the second book being so long, it just didn’t happen.

Green Made Easy – Chris Prelitz

I’ve read a lot of ‘going green’ books but this ranks as one of my top 3. It was easy to read and it’s chaptered in a great way which turns it into a perfect reference book. I originally rented it on a whim from the library, but I enjoyed it so much that I ended up buying it for my Kindle. I was shocked, and thrilled, to find out it only cost $.89 (and still does as of 3/2). SOLD!

Even after reading dozens of ‘green’ books, I still learned a lot from this one. 

image

 

Animal, Vegetable, Miracle: A Year of Food Life

I’m a little torn on what to say about this book. On one had I loved the inside look of a family that was supporting themselves off food they grew or purchased locally. It was inspiring and led me to make some changes in my life as well. On the other had it was wordy. The story split in dozens of tangents which I ended up scanning and in some parts, flat out ignoring. I really enjoyed the personal story, but the ‘lecturing’ was tedious and it took me nearly the entire month to get through the book. That’s really saying something when I usually finish a book in less than a week.

I also rented this book via the library and I’m glad I did. You can read about both the book and their recipes on their website.

image

 

March Challenge

So what did these books inspire? A ‘green’ month. That’s right, March is going to be a test of ‘going green’ in my house. Each day I’m going to tackle a new thing to bring me one step closer to being an environmentally conscious, authentic person. I think it’s easy to get caught up in the day to day humdrum of life and forget that even our smallest actions have a big consequence on the earth, our immediate environment, and not to mention our health. I don’t know about you, but I want to try to leave this world a little better than when I came into it, and every little bit helps.

Who’s in?

February Recap

Not only was February a short month on the calendar, I also blogged much less than usual (or hoped for). However, there was still some fun going on throughout the month.

I started off the month by showing you some some progress in the garage, the large storage unit has made the world of difference. I’m even thinking of purchasing a second one soon to use as a workbench.

I also shared the finished spare bathroom with a Hawaiian style.

Since it’s the month of LOVE, there were plenty of Valentine themed projects. DIY Cork Heart Sign, Creating some fun planters for the front door, and my favorite, the DIY heart art. Oh, and I can’t forget my sweet Valentine!

Heart Art 

93/365: November 1, 2009

This past month I also dealt with a few home projects, such as installing window films and organizing my photos. Later in the month I shared my somewhat crazy love for letterpress calendars and my DIY Calendar Journal.

DIY Daily Calendar Journal

Sadly I don’t yet have any information about whether layoffs will directly affect my job, but in preparation of tough times I imposed a $40 per week grocery budget. I started a new weekly feature on the blog sharing how I’m stretching that $40 and highlighting a few meals that I’m eating each week. Even though I made several new recipes this month, I only shared one, the Banana Mocha Smoothie. It’s delicious.

Banana Mocha Smoothie

Lastly I had 4 ‘Inspired’ posts in addition to sharing my dream home.

I’m Feeling Inspired: Garden Style

I’m Feeling Inspired: Romantic L.O.V.E.

I’m Feeling Inspired: Kitchens

I’m Feeling Inspired: Beautiful Strength

So that’s February! I’ll be back with another post about a recent tribute concert I went to and my first ‘green’ challenge day. Let’s make it a great March!

One response

  1. Pingback: A Look Back at 2012 | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

