Recipe: Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

It’s no secret I have a sweet tooth and in my recent work misery the cravings have been intense. Lately I haven’t been buying many sweets during my weekly grocery trips so I had no chocolate chips, baking chocolate, M&Ms, or anything else that could reasonably pass as an add in for Chocolate Chip Cookies. After a very VERY long time staring in my pantry I decided to go with Peanut Butter Cookies.

If you know me well this will come as a shock because I don’t like Peanut Butter in my chocolate (or my cookies). Actually I don’t like peanuts in my deserts at all. I am still the kid who will easily turn down a Snickers or a Reese’s. Ick. 

But these are a  classic that my mom made growing up so this is the only PB cookie I will eat. To give it a cocoa hit I used a Dark Chocolate Peanut Butter instead of the regular stuff. It gave them a slight cocoa flavor which was perfect. 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

 

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Adapted from Betty Crocker

Makes: about 2 dozen

1/2 Cup Granulated Sugar

1/2 Cup Packed Brown Sugar

1/2 Cup Dark Chocolate Dreams Peanut Butter

1/2 Cup Butter (1 Stick)

1 large egg

1 1/4 Cup All Purpose Flour

3/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

Addition Granulated Sugar to roll the cookies in. 

 

  • Heat oven to 375 degrees.

 

  • In a large bowl, mix the granulated sugar, brown sugar, peanut butter, butter, and egg until well combined. Stir in the flour, baking soda, baking powder, and salt.

 

  • Roll the dough into a 1 inch ball then lightly coat the cookie dough ball in the extra granulated sugar and place on a ungreased cookie sheet. To get the crackle top finish, do not flatten the cookie. However, you can use a fork to flatten the cookie which will give you the classic peanut butter cookie design.

 

  • Bake about 10 minutes. Cool on a wire rack for about 5 minutes. Enjoy!

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

Chocolate Peanut Butter Cookies

One response

  1. Pingback: Weekly Eats & Grocery Budget | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

