Eco Challenge – Evolve Rainfall Showerhead

Yes, it’s April and I said I would do the Eco challenge in March. Life happens and things fell off track so I’ll be continuing the eco challenges into April as well. My goal is to finish the 30 days and that’s what I plan to do.

This project actually allowed me to mark two different items of my To-Do list. I’ve been wanting to replace my standard showerhead with a rainfall version since the day I moved in, but I also wanted something that was environmentally conscious. I found the perfect items sold by a company called Evolve. Their technology shuts down the water to a trickle once it gets hot, meaning that I no longer waste tons of water running down the drain while I wait for the temp to heat up.

Eco Evolve Showerhead

I’ve never done any type of plumbing or bathroom repair and at first I was worried I wouldn’t be able to figure it out. However, it ended up being incredibly easy to install and took less than 15 minutes start to finish.

First up, I removed the basic showerhead that came with the house. Using a wrench it came off very easily.

New Eco Showerhead

The tape was in bad shape so I used a blade to score it and removed as much as I could from the threads.

New Eco Showerhead

New Eco Showerhead

The new showerhead came with enough new tape to wrap the threads. Nice to know the kit came with everything except the wrench used to remove the original.

New Eco Showerhead

Once the tape is on, I just screwed on the new showerhead. Seriously easy.

New Eco Showerhead

Here’s a look at how it works. I turned on the water to warm, like I always do, and walked away.

New Eco Showerhead

A few moments later once the temp had gotten hot enough, it slowed to a trickle.

New Eco Showerhead

Once you get into the shower, pull the string and the water will return to full force.

New Eco Showerhead

I purchased this showerhead in particular through Amazon, although they do have several styles. With shipping, it cost me $37 and they shipped very quickly.  The version I purchased has 3 different spay patterns, but I love the rainfall feature. It reminds me of a tropical shower, and if I close my eyes I can pretend I’m in paradise and almost, ALMOST hear the sound of the ocean in the distance.

If you happen to love your current showerhead, Evolve also has an adapter you can use.

*This post was not sponsored by Evolve in any way, they don’t know I exist. I just happen to really like this product.

3 responses

  1. This looks amazing! I love that you are doing an eco challenge. I too, am learning to live more “green” (http://inherchucks.com/category/going-green/). When it comes to water usage I have a long way to go because any low flow shower heads always seem to have wimpy water pressure. But this water head looks like it is the rock star of all eco friendly shower heads! looks like I will be making some modifications to my shower head soon…thanks for sharing🙂

  2. Pingback: The Liebster Award « In Her Chucks

  3. Pingback: A Look Back at 2012 | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

