CSA Box #1

This whole CSA thing is much more fun than it should be. I’m not sure I’ve ever enjoyed washing veggies and stocking my fridge as much as I did this past weekend. I didn’t get any pictures of the farmers market, but it was pretty impressive. Although I had a little trouble finding parking and the proper booth, next time I hope to arrive earlier and maybe even pick up a coffee and stroll around a bit more.

I’ve also realized that I need a much bigger fridge in my future home, this was A LOT of food.

CSA 3/31/2012

Red and Green Leaf Lettuce.

CSA 3/31/2012

Tomatoes

CSA 3/31/2012

Radishes and some Strawberries that didn’t quite make the picture. I’m pretty sure that I will never buy Strawberries from the grocery store again, these were incredible. No sugar needed, they were delicious. In fact, next time I’m buying more than what comes in the box.

CSA  3/31/2012

Cabbage, Sorrel, Swiss Chard, Bunching Onions, Lemons, Apples.

I found a recipe for a cabbage cheese bake as well as a Swiss Chard and Sausage stew. But I still don’t know what to do with Sorrel and those tomatoes. I’ve never seen tomatoes like that before, do you cook them? eat them raw?

CSA 3/31/2012

I’m running out of room in my fridge with all this fresh food.

CSA Fridge 3/31/2012

I also purchased a share of flowers to pick up each time I get a new CSA box. The bouquet was HUGE and really beautiful. In fact I broke it up and put them in two large vases. Well worth the $10 every two weeks. Hopefully they survive until my next delivery.

CSA Flowers 3/31/2012

6 responses

  1. Wow! Looks like you scored big time! Those tomatoes would be amazing sliced with some fresh mozzarella (or burrata) and fresh basil drizzled with balsamic vinegar and olive oil. I have also tried this amazing heirloom tomato sauce http://www.kitchycooking.com/2010/11/heirloom-tomato-sauce/ if you want to try something different. For the sorrel, here is a delicious salmon recipe from my sister-in-law’s blog…sure to hit the spot! http://www.kokolikes.com/salmon-in-sorrel-sauce/. Enjoy every bit of that lovely produce🙂

Join the Conversation!

