DIY: Portion Control Plates

A few weeks back I was browsing through Open Sky and came across this portion control plate. I actually really liked the idea for those times when I needed a little extra attention to my eating. However, they were charging $30 for 2 plates, plus whatever shipping happen to be that day. So I would probably be looking at about $40, and I just can’t justify paying $20 a plate.

Glass Portion Plate_TanyaZukerbrot_Opensky

Portion Control Glass Plate (OpenSky)

*This picture is from Opensky and it’s wrong since they placed the protein in the large section. I’m not sure how this got past someone, because I don’t know of a diet where that would be an acceptable vegetable serving.

The point is to use the frosted lines as a guide and fill half your plate with vegetables, a quarter of the plate with starch and the last quarter with a protein. Only I made my own for the cost of the plate since I already owned some etching cream.

Step 1:

Collect your supplies.

  • Simple Glass Plate
  • Armour Etch
  • Paint Brush
  • Painter Tape
  • Gloves/Eye Protection (The Armour Etch can cause burns so take proper precautions and be safe)

Portion Control Plates

*Please be safe when using this product. I would not recommend letting kids use this product, this is definitely an adult project for safety reasons.

Portion Control Plates

Step 2:

Using the painters tape, tape off the plate. Be sure to press down all edges of the tape to keep the Armour Etch seeping under the tape.

Portion Control Plates

Step 3:

Apple a liberal layer of the etching cream and set aside. I let it set for about 20 minutes before taking the next step.

Portion Control Plates

Step 4:

Carefully remove the tape and wash off the etching cream using lukewarm water. I wore a pair of dishwashing gloves for this step since I didn’t want to get the etching cream on my hands.

Let it dry and you’re done.

Portion Control Plates

I haven’t used etching cream much, but it’s not difficult. I did get some on my hands and didn’t have any negative reaction, but I still think it’s incredibly important to wear gloves just in case. Since the etching is on the bottom of the glass, the top is food safe. I read somewhere the glass will still be dishwasher and microwave safe, but it doesn’t state this on the bottle.

Portion Control Plates

Not bad for a $3 knock off of a $20 plate.

Portion Control Plates

I tried it out last night and loved it. Yes, if you’re great at portion control you won’t need a plate with lines, but for those times when I need a little extra help the lines are a good guide. I think this will come in handy.

Portion-Plate-After-1

(Macadamia Nut Crusted Mahi Mahi, Brown Rice, Sautéed Brussel Sprouts and Spinach) It was delicious!

 

Project Cost Breakdown:

Clear Glass Plate (World Market) = $3

Armor Etch (Already Owned) = $0 (Hobby Lobby sells this and with their 40% off coupon it would cost about $5 for a small bottle) 

Painters Tape/Brush/Gloves (Already Owned) = $0

Total Project Cost: $3

Join the Conversation!

