Eco Challenge – Get Rid of the Bugs

Ok, so nothing glamorous here…I need to talk bugs. Every year around this time I begrudgingly welcome these little flying critters into my home. I believe they are fruit flies and they drive me crazy. There are incredibly hard to catch and downright gross. I swear if you get one little bug in the house they will multiple within minutes (ok, not really, but it seems like it).

In the past I’ve tried various removal methods. Swatting them is useless, they are too small and too fast. I had some luck with catching them by whacking them with a towel, but I was only killing one here and there. The best option I found in the past was to spray them with cleanser since you can catch them mid air. However, I end up with a whole house that smelled like Lysol, and since I’m spraying it into the air…much of it ended up in my lungs. So, no more Lysol for me.

A little Googling and Pinterest hunting gave me the instructions on making a homemade Fruit Fly trap. I had everything on hand so I made up two right away. I put one on in the kitchen and one upstairs to catch any that seem to make their way up there. Those little suckers like to fly everywhere!

 

Eco_Fruit Fly Trap

All it took was an empty Mason Jar, a piece of computer paper shaped into a funnel, some apple cider vinegar, a piece of banana, and painters tape (or masking tape). Once you catch a few little bugs, you can set the jar in the freezer for a few minutes which will kill the flies and then set it back out on the counter. I have had these going for about a week and they are working great. Granted I still have a few that seem to keep making little fruit fly babies, but the numbers are dwindling. In fact they congregate to the jar so well, and are no longer travelling around the house, that I’ve been able to eliminate the trap from upstairs.

So yeah, I have fruit flies. They suck…but I’m thrilled that I found a way to get rid of them with safe ingredients from around the house.

5 responses

    • The vinegar/dawn solution is a great idea, thanks for sharing! I’ll try this next time since it will look much nicer around the house when I’m trying to catch the ones that escape the kitchen.

  1. Thank you so much for this post. Lately we’ve been overrun with these suckers. I think they’re coming out of our drains due to the archaic the plumbing in our building. Also, because of my new “healthy lifestyle”, I tend to buy a lot of fresh fruit and vegetable which is ideal breeding grounds for these awful things. This is a project sure to be completed by the end of this weekend.🙂

    • Yeah, I had the same trouble when I started getting the fresh veggies from the CSA. Once you get those first few bugs, they multiple so quickly, it’s hard to get rid of them.

Join the Conversation!

