CSA Box #3

Before I share the goodies I got yesterday at the Farmers Market, I have to give serious kudos to the guys at the booth for making me this beautiful bouquet. As part of my CSA, I pick up a very large bouquet along with my fruits/veggies. This week, they didn’t have my flowers ready so they built one for me on the spot. Gorgeous!

CSA Flowers

CSA Flowers

  CSA Flowers

Ok, now on to the food…

 CSA Fruits & Veggies

Lettuce, Spinach, Kale, Snap Peas, Strawberries…

 Carrots, Sage, Avocados, Cabbage. Lemons

Carrots, Avocados, Sage, and Lemons…

 Lemons and Sage

…Cabbage and turnips.

 Lemons, Sage, Turnips, Cabbage

There were a lot of good basics this week, lemons, lettuce, spinach, avocados, and berries. I love that the wild cards are the fresh sage and turnips. I have a butternut squash in the pantry that I think will go well with the sage, perhaps in a risotto. I think some fish tacos are in order for that cabbage, but I’m not sure what to do with turnips. Any suggestions?

I LOVE fresh sage, it’s makes a lovely little bouquet near by sink while think of ways to use.

 Fresh Sage Bouquet

3 responses

  1. Everything looks amazing! And those flowers will be a beautiful breath of fresh air during the week🙂 I love this recipe for turnips…and its even better for leftovers! http://www.myrecipes.com/recipe/beer-braised-beef-with-onion-carrot-turnips-10000001924727/. Now I am wishing I had some turnips…

    Sage and butternut squash are a perfect combo…check out my recipe for homemade ravioli…and they freeze well too for later use🙂 http://inherchucks.com/2012/01/10/butternut-squash-ravioli-with-sage-butter/

    • Thanks for the recipes, I going to try the Squash Ravioli this week. It’s so perfect that it freezes well since I’m cooking a whole butternut squash for one person. I was worried about having to make pasta dough, but then I saw ‘wonton wrapper’. Genius!

Join the Conversation!

