Garage Organization – Magnetic Paint Brush Bar

Ah Mondays :sigh: usually I don’t like you so much. However, today? Today was a really great day which I’m taking as a sign that year 30 is going to be amazing. I can’t even say that I did anything all that ‘great’, it was just a really wonderful and productive day.

I got a good nights sleep which makes all the difference in the world and woke up without an alarm clock. I even had time before work to take my pup out for a walk, workout, take a shower/makeup/yadda yadda without racing around like a crazy person. I was able to get out of work a little early so I had time to take care of some errands and finished buying all the birthday/mother’s day gifts for this month. 

I even had a lucky little friend hang out on my car this evening while I was running errands. He held on for dear life and travelled to each stop with me before finally flying free when I was on my way home.

Instagram Ladybug

Lately with work I haven’t been getting through my list of house projects, but I did tackle one easy organizational task recently in the garage.

Now that I have most of the workbench/storage installed in the garage, I’m starting to shift to decor and organization. The shelves have helped a lot in keeping things clean, but the smaller items are getting lost in the clutter.

I’m also finding myself with quite a bit of empty wall space. 

Magnetic Paint Brush Holder

I do plan to install some shelving above the workbench in the future, but in the meantime I needed something to organize my paintbrushes/spackle knives/etc. I waste a lot of time searching for these supplies so I wanted to find a way to keep them all in an easy to access area. So I purchased a metal magnetic knife bar via Amazon. It’s for holding culinary knives in the kitchen, but since it’s basically a big magnet, I thought it would be functional in the garage as well. Plus it looks fancy…and my garage could use a little fanciness. Ha!

MIU France Stainless Steel Magnetic Knife Holder, 20-Inches

 

Installation was a breeze and within minutes I had the bar securely attached to the wall. I took about a dozen pictures because I like shiny things because the paint can reflection was killing my shots, but you get the point.

Magnetic Paint Brush Holder

…and it’s working perfectly to hold all my painting supplies.

Magnetic Paint Brush Holder

I have to say I’m pretty impressed with how it turned out. I can easily grab what I need and I never have to worry about losing that paint key again (I misplace that sucker ALL THE TIME).

Magnetic Paint Brush Holder

What do you guys think? What type of indoor organizational tools have you brought outside? I think I need some girly touches in this space. It’s feeling a little…umm…manly. I get that Garages are typically a ‘man cave’, and I don’t want to paint my garage walls pink or anything, but there’s a small part of me that wants to chuck a bucket of glitter at the wall. It needs a little sprucing up…there’s something a guy wouldn’t say about his garage.

One response

  1. My garage fit the “man cave” description because it was a total wreck! I brought my girly touch to it by organizing it to death, and not just putting stuff in separated piles. My garage was ugly tan sheetrock. So some cheap white paint worked miracles and transformed the garage. All that white-ness just makes you want to keep it clean. I used old peanut butter jars and screwed the lids underneath a shelf. Then I put nuts, bolts, and screws into the jars and twisted them onto the lids. Like this -http://media-cache7.pinterest.com/upload/26317979042583583_Awwep0Kc_f.jpg. I also got some storage racks to store my bikes and other sports equipment from here – garagerackstorage.com So you’re right, I don’t need glitter to take the “man cave” out of the garage.

Join the Conversation!

