Recipe: Broiled Grapefruit

I’ve always had a love hate relationship with grapefruit. I want to like it, but they always tasted too tart for me. Even when they were sweet…they were still too sour. I won’t lie that I was a little bummed when I got them in my last CSA box, especially since it looked like a giant lemon (pun intended).

Little did I know there was a delicious way to make grapefruit.

*and you thought I was joking when I said I was ‘vacu-saving’ everything. Yes, I vacu-saved half a grapefruit and was able to eat it several days later and it hadn’t browned at all.

Broiled Grapefruit

Turns out the trick to seriously delicious grapefruit is my toaster oven, more specifically the broil feature on the toaster oven.

Broiled Grapefruit

The prep for broiled grapefruit is the same as any other grapefruit, using a sharp paring knife I cut out each segment.

Broiled Grapefruit

Then a quick cut around the perimeter.

Broiled Grapefruit

Next I added a little vanilla sugar to the top. I tucked a few used vanilla bean pods in my sugar a while back so now all my sugar has a lovely hint of vanilla. It’s the greatest thing.

Broiled Grapefruit

Lastly I add a few little bits of butter. Not much, just a touch.

Broiled Grapefruit

Broil for about 12 minutes.

Broiled Grapefruit

Seriously delicious, trust me.

 

Shared with: In Her Chucks

5 responses

  1. Pingback: What’s in the Box? #28 « In Her Chucks

Join the Conversation!

