Introducing the Office – Before

I’ve been dreading this post for a bit, it’s such a mess that I’m embarrassed to even show you. This is my office right now, where I spend at least 10 hours each day, often more. I have two spare bedrooms in my home, and the original plan was to turn one into a ‘day job’ office, and the other into an art studio. For the office, I had grand plans for a loveseat sleeper (so the room could be used as a bedroom for guests), and the walls would be decorated with vintage travel posters so I could dream about getting away. I even had them all picked out online. Then my brother gave me a queen size bed and I no longer needed this room to double as a guest room. All of a sudden the idea changed and it’s been sitting in limbo for nearly 2 years. (…and the Art Studio became a real Spare Bedroom…well kinda…it’s in progress)

Here’s a little look back to what the office looked like when I first moved in. There another window and a closet hiding tot he left of the door.

K10036663_9_0

The really incredible view. Since the office is on the 3rd floor, I get to see above all the other homes and all the way to the mountains on a clear day.

…and the first round of design which was never fully realized. The dark teal/blue is actually beautiful and would have looked great with the vintage posters, I think.

However, since the plan changed it has become a hodge podge of crap. Random art covers only one half of the room, the other wall is completely bare. I have two chairs…but only one butt…figure out my logic in that one. I recently borrowed the exercise bike from my parents as an attempt to ‘work out’ the stress from work when necessary. It actually comes in quite handy throughout the week. Although I will likely send it back to them when I finish this remodel.

Office Before

Office Before

Broken IKEA bookcases that are holding random supplies for now (the rest are shoved in the closet. Thank your lucky stars that I won’t show you those pictures). I was in the middle of moving all the books downstairs to the Foyer so it looks messier than usual.

Oh, who am I kidding, I moved those book downstairs 2 weeks ago and my office still looks like this!

Office Before

Office Before

Such. A. Mess.

Office Before

Office Before

I have a whole list of ‘needs’ for this room, such as more desk space, organization, more storage, and comfy seating. I want this room to feel more like an oasis than a dungeon. I actually really love the wall color, but It’s going away in exchange for something lighter.

Here’s a little inspiration…

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Pinned Image

Via, Via, Via, Via, Via, Via

One response

  1. Pingback: 2 Year Home Anniversary – A Look Back | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

