30 in 30 Update– Learning Italian

Remember this little resolution list? Where I resolved to do 30 things in my 30th year?

Yeah, well I’m excited to start working on a big item on the list.

I’m Learning Italian!

Right after I announced my 30 in 30 goals, I received a notification for a Groupon Deal to Online Trainers which offers Online Language Lessons. I did a little research for reviews to Online Trainers and read quite a few good things, so I decided to go for it. It seemed like a sign when it popped in my inbox that day, and during purchase I found I had a $10 Groupon Bucks to spend which made it even cheaper.

image

In the past I’ve tried various audio programs when I was trying to build on the French I learned in College and it worked well. I enjoy self paced classes and prefer online courses these days simply because I can work them around my schedule. I honestly would have loved to purchase the Rosetta Stone, but couldn’t bring myself to pay for the program. [I’m still kicking myself for not purchasing both French and Italian from Borders when they closed and put them on clearance.] I purchased the year long Online Trainers plan so hopefully by this time next year I’ll be crossing this goal off my list and speaking some decent Italian. Hell, I might even consider a trip to Italy as my 31st birthday trip (another list item).

Once I have been in the program for a while, I’ll do another check in and let you know how it’s going.

 

I’m curious: Anyone else out there trying to learn another language? If so, what language and how (i.e. school, online, self taught, etc)?

6 responses

  1. I know it’s barely been three weeks, but I’m curious to know how you’re liking the online trainers classes! Considering buying the current groupon deal myself. For French though, not Italian. I signed up for Livemocha over two years ago but didn’t stick with it – I’m thinking if I actually spend money for this, I might have more discipline about working at it.

    • I haven’t had much chance to get into it since I ran into a few microphone issues (my own technical issues, not Online Trainers fault). From the little bit I’ve been able to do so far, I’ve really enjoyed it. Spending money on it has definitely motivated me to keep with it, but since it’s self paced, it takes some discipline.

      Bonne Chance! (Good Luck! I took french in College and LOVED it.)

  2. Can you tell me a little more about your progress and how you like the program so far? I’m thinking of buying French language lessons. Thanks.

    • Hi Abby,
      I actually really like the program, I saw progress right away. I like that you can select the length of lesson each day and you get an email each day in the language so you can get used to reading. The email has news, words, etc. The two main downsides I see (which could be seen as positives as well); you have to be motivated to do the lessons (no real teacher or anyone to hold you accountable), and 99% is in the language the day you start. You’re thrown into a bit which makes the first few lessons a bit tedious while you look everything up, but their functionality is pretty awesome. You can highlight any word and get the definitions, hear someone speak it, and speak it yourself & compare it to their vocal version. Overall I strongly recommend it if you can keep yourself motivated to do the lessons regularly.

  3. Hi Addison! I realize I am commenting on an old post. But I just wanted to thank you for this post on Online Trainers. My local Groupon site also just put up vouchers for the Online Trainers courses and I am interested in getting a course for French. So I am happy to have found this review. Thank you!🙂

Join the Conversation!

