CSA Box #5

Guess who’s back?

Brother and Sister Beagles

Yep, I have the little beagles again this weekend! So far, all the pups have done very well together, no alpha male fights like last time. Before they were dropped off yesterday morning I took a quick trip to the Farmer’s Market to pick up my CSA box. The weather was absolutely gorgeous yesterday, cool and breezy, I loved every second of it.

Turns out showing up at the farmer’s market when they first open is the way to go. I didn’t have any trouble with parking like I usually do, and was able to get in and out since I had to get back home quickly. I even had time to swap out a few items from the box. Usually I just take whatever comes in the selection, and enjoy trying new things; however, this week I had already planned out my meals and the cabbage and beets just didn’t fit into any of the meals. I knew I wouldn’t eat them so I swapped them for some tomatoes and some more spinach.

CSA Box 5

The goodies:

  • Lettuce
  • Spinach (x2)
  • Carrots
  • Kale
  • Broccolini
  • Oranges
  • Avocados
  • Tomatoes
  • Basil
  • Strawberries (they forgot to include them in the box)

CSA Box 5

CSA Box 5

I also picked up a bouquet of flowers, but I’m an idiot and killed them in one day. I set them in a vase right as I got home just to free up my hands, but then forgot to go back and remove the plastic and add water. Doh!

Oh well.

A few people have asked if I am still doing the $40 grocery challenge…yes and no.

I am still keeping a budget, but I have raised it for the time being as I have changed my eating lately. I recently read The Skinny Rules by Bob Harper, and it is a great example of what I would like my life long eating lifestyle to be like. He lays it out so well, that it gave me the nudge I needed to get back on track. Not to mention I’ve dropped 10 lbs in the small period of time that I’ve been following the rules so far. Sure, it’s mostly water weight…but who cares. It’s 10 pounds! So while I shift over to a better eating plan, I find that I’m only buying meat, dairy, grains, or fruit/veggies. If you are a couponer, you know it is incredibly hard to find coupons for these types of things. I’ve been trying to find the happy medium of shopping sales and bulk at Costco to keep the costs low. Once I figure out a good balance, I’ll share more. To give you an example of what my shopping list looks like these days, here’s what I bought this week. All of the below cost $62 and I shopped at Albertsons, Trader Joe’s, and Henrys to take advantage of as many sales as possible.

  • Chobani Plain Yogurt (32oz) – I split this myself into smaller containers for everyday eating
  • Ground Turkey
  • Chicken Breasts (6)
  • Whip Cream
  • Eggs (1 dozen)
  • Pita Bite Crackers
  • Brussel Sprouts
  • Snow Peas
  • Mushrooms
  • Green Beans
  • Bananas (4)
  • Cilantro Dressing
  • Apples (8)
  • Blueberries (4 pkgs)
  • Strawberries (4 pkgs)
  • Parsley (1 bunch)
  • Sweet Potatoes (2)
  • Clif Bars (5)

I’ve also been using the FoodSaver to extend the life of things outside of the CSA veggies. For example, as a household of one, I only eat a few pieces of bread a week, so I pull out what I need and Save/Freeze the rest. Now a loaf of bread will last me a month instead of having to buy a new loaf each week. I do the same with hard cheeses (cheddar/parm) which I buy from Costco.

Have you read The Skinny Rules? What did you think?

 

Shared with: In Her Chucks

5 responses

    • Avocados are definitely a perk of living in Southern California. I’d love to hear if the raw food book was a helpful motivator, I’ve been considering more raw recipes lately.

Join the Conversation!

