Mental Dumbbells – June 2012

It’s time to play catch-up now that I have a few days off. Last minute I decided to take Thu/Fri off of work since the 4th is an office holiday. That gives me 5 days off in a row, the longest vacation I’ve had since Thanksgiving. I can’t tell you how much I need some time to decompress. Wednesday was a nice lazy day that involved some good food, errands, and a glorious 2 hour nap. I hope to make some progress on the Foyer and Spare Bedroom over the next few days, not to mention a fun weekend of shopping and a Baseball game.

First up is June’s reading recap. Last month I finished 7 books which brings the 30 in 30 count to 15 done, and 35 to go. 

 

Food Revolution, The: How Your Diet Can Help Save Your Life and Our World

LOVED this book. In fact the entire time I was reading it, I kept thinking how great this would have been as a textbook in high school health class to give kids a basis in healthy eating. There is a strong push in the book to stop eating meat, but that’s not the only message. I still eat meat; although it very rare that I eat red meat and I try to only purchase organic/cage free chicken and eggs. I was incredibly impressed that the son of the Baskin Robbins founder wrote this book and that it contained so much great information on living a healthy lifestyle.I took away a lot of great information from this book and would recommend it to EVERYONE.

image

 

On Writing: 10th Anniversary Edition: A Memoir of the Craft

This book was recommended to me in my last writing class and it has quickly become one of my favorite writing books of all time. In fact, even if you’re not a writer, if you like Stephen King, you’ll enjoy this book. It’s a good blend of advice and memoir, as he offers tips throughout the book as he tells you his life story.

 image

 

The $100 Startup: Reinvent the Way You Make a Living, Do What You Love, and Create a New Future

I am very intrigued by those that are self employed, mostly because I hope to be working for myself someday soon. If I recall correctly, Tim Ferris recommended this via Twitter, and since I’m a fan of his, I wanted to check this out as well. This book gave me some detailed ideas on how to start a profitable venture, as well as real world case studies. It offered encouragement to follow a dream and turn it into a living, which is something I needed right now. It was an easy read that I’ll keep around as a reference book going forward as I embark on my own startup.

 image

 

Cure

I have been a fan of Robin Cook for a long time, he’s my FAVORITE medical thriller writer. I also love his series on Jack Stapleton and Laurie Montgomery. This was no exception and I really enjoyed the book. Jack and Laurie work in the medical examiner office and are recently married. Other Cook books go back to before they met, so I’ve been following them for a while. In this story, Laurie is coming back to work after an extended maternity leave and ends up in the middle of a murder/kidnapping. Classic Cook, good fiction if you like Medical Thrillers.

image

 

Don’t Blink

Another favorite writer and a good story. I like that Patterson collaborates with other writers, it gives the story a fresh edge. This one involved a mob lawyer murder, a sports star hiding a secret, and a journalist. Classic for Patterson, it had short, action packed chapters which made it an easy read. Warning: If the title and info graphic doesn’t give you a clue, there is some gruesome stuff about eyeballs…it caught me off guard and grossed me out, so I thought I’d let you know.

 image

 

Tick Tock (Michael Bennett)

I borrowed a few Patterson books from my mom so he’ll likely be a reoccurring theme. The same structure holds true for this one, short & action packed chapters. I think it took me only a day to zip through this one as well. This one followed, new to me series star, Michael Bennett. While it was gruesome (it is a murder mystery after all), it also involved a great storyline about him and his kids (he has a bunch of them – adopted). I would read the whole Bennett series just to hear about their family. I like this book better than ‘Don’t Blink’ since the main character reminded me of Alex Cross.

image

 

Most Talkative: Stories from the Front Lines of Pop Culture

I didn’t actually plan to finish this book in June since I bought it on the 30th; however, I was hooked from the first page. It was an easy/fun read that I finished in one day. I never used to like the Housewives (still don’t for the most part), but I LOVED how Andy asked the tough questions at the reunions. I started watching the seasons so I would understand what was happening in the reunions. Later I learned he was also a VP at Bravo (I thought he was just an on air personality) and I was intrigued. I love reading biographies in general and this was no exception.

image

 

 

*Disclaimer: All the links are affiliate, but all opinions are my own. I was not comped with any of these books.

Join the Conversation!

