Summer Fun

This past weekend, as a great wrap up to a few days off, my family and I went to a baseball game. There are only 2 sports that I really love to watch live, Hockey and Baseball. The last several years, we’ve been to one game each summer and we always have a great time. This year was no different.

Padres Game_Reds_8

A few weeks ago I saw Groupon had a deal for Padres ticket. I paid $25 for tickets that typically cost about $60, which was a great deal. Even better, these types of bargains are usually for Weekday tickets, but these were for a Saturday night game so I snapped them up quickly. Perfect!

Plus you can’t beat the view of San Diego from the stadium. (Ok, perhaps the train yard isn’t it’s best feature, but still…)

Padres Game_Reds_7

The seats we had were on the Suite level, third base side. We did have the sun in our eyes for about 20 minutes, but it was gone before the first pitch.

It actually ended up being a good night to go because they had all the Olympians that train out of the Chula Vista Olympic Training center visiting, and they were announced prior to the game. Lots of USA Pride. They also did a Archery contest with the Olympic Archery team.

Then Charlie Sheen threw out the first pitch. Yeah, I didn’t see that coming. I was only using my phone for pics so I couldn’t get a close up of anyone on the field, so sorry, you don’t get to see him ‘Winning’. Truth be told, his pitch was better than the Olympian who went before him.

Padres Game_Reds_2  

I seriously love this stadium and wish it was closer so I could attend a few more games each year. Padres lost, but it was a ton of fun.

Oh, and I learned how to properly open a shelled peanut. Apparently I’ve been doing it wrong all these years. Consider my mind blown.

I also made a cake this past weekend, and it was adorable! I still have to edit the pictures so I’ll put a separate post about it soon. I assure you it was easy, colorful, and delicious!

Red White and Blue Cake_1

Does anyone have plans for this weekend? It’s been over 100 degrees each day here this week and my AC is broken (in both my house and my car, lucky me). So I’m thinking a trip the air conditioned mall may be in order. Or maybe a movie, any recommendations?

Join the Conversation!

