Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

The temps have been in the 100’s lately, apparently I made the ‘good weather’ comment too soon. I don’t know about you, but the last thing I want to do when I’m in the process of melting, is heat up the kitchen. However, I have felt like eating ice cream…but really, when is a bad time for ice cream?

This seemed like the perfect time to try out a recipe I’ve been drooling over since last month. Bakerella created these easy Brownie Sundae Bon Bons which were great inspiration for my take on a tropical ice cream bites. 

One of my absolute favorite candy bars is the Mounds bar. Dark chocolate surrounding gooey coconut…yeah, it’s heaven I tell you. So I paired dark chocolate with Coconut ice cream for a delicious ice cream version.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

I found the Peanut Butter candy molds at Michaels for a few bucks and to my complete surprise, SO Coconut Milk makes a Coconut Ice Cream! This was the first time I’ve had coconut milk ice cream and it was amazingly delicious. Creamy coconut ice cream with pieces of shredded coconut. The dark chocolate candy wafers are sold at the craft store for a couple of dollars. They have dozens of colors and a variety of flavors to choose from.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Heaven in the ice cream aisle.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

The peanut butter mold was my personal choice, but you can use whichever style you like. Just make sure it’s deep enough to hold some ice cream in the center. Some of the candy molds are rather flat and wouldn’t work as well.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

To make the application easier, I used a plastic squirt bottle I had on hand (bought at Cost Plus) and filled it with the candy wafers. In 30 second intervals, I microwaved the chocolate (in the bottle) until melted.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Working one cup at a time, I coated each mold with chocolate. I found that applying a ring around the top of the ring made application easier. Tap the mold slightly and the chocolate will coat the sides, then I could add a bit more at the bottom to cover any blank spaces. This part of the process isn’t as long as it sounds. The melted chocolate will coat the mold rather quickly. The hardest part of this entire process is at the end, waiting for the finished candy to set.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Pop the molds in the freezer for a few minutes to set the chocolate.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Fill each cup with about 1/2 teaspoon of ice cream. It helps if the ice cream is slightly melted.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Freeze the molds again for a few minutes to set the ice cream then add a thin layer of chocolate to the top and pop them back in the freezer. It’s best to let them set for at least 30 minutes before serving so the ice cream is completely solid.

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

Delicious bites of creamy coconut goodness.

Enjoy!

Dark Chocolate Coconut Ice Cream Bites

3 responses

  1. Pingback: Coconut Ice Cream With Dark Chocolate Sauce « Putney Farm

  2. Pingback: A Look Back at 2012 | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

