Life Lesson: Pain Of Risk and The Path Ahead

I thought it might be a good time to share a favorite quote I recently found. I found this in a writing book that I read a while back, and it struck a cord with me. I’ve been struggling with my day job lately (more than usual), and have been very unhappy. However, at the end of the day it was a comfortable paycheck, so even though I’ve been taking small actions in the past year to move toward a happier life, I wasn’t making much effort to change my day job. Honestly, I’ve felt unhappy in life, and I was blaming it all on work. In reality, it’s my fault I haven’t left my job. I do feel stuck for various valid reasons, but I’m the one who continues to show up each day. I kept wondering why…

 

Risking-Change_Jeff-Gerke

A-ha moment!

I finally reached the breaking point about a month ago, but I thought taking a week off would help refresh me. So I took my first vacation in 9 months; however, in the 5 days I had off, I had to take work calls on 4 of the days. It didn’t end up feeling like much of a vacation at all. Even thought the conversations weren’t long each day, it was ridiculously hard to shut down my brain when each day I had to talk about work. In most cases I had to start up my computer and look up data in order to answer their questions, so shutting down mentally was nearly impossible.

I’ve finally reached that point where the current state of life is more painful that the fear of taking a huge leap into the unknown. I strongly believe that I’m meant to be doing something else; something creative surrounding art, writing, and design. I feel like I’m wasting what could be an amazing life sitting at my desk processing paperwork day in and out, just so I can build up a retirement fund, and someday *hopefully* be happy.

So lately I’ve been working long nights doing things I actually love, like creating new string art pieces.

I’ve also been writing again and am currently writing a recipe eBook which we be ready in early October. I’m starting my own business, EvoLovely Designs, and opening an Etsy store within the next month which will contain some of the string art pieces, jewelry, and other fun handmade items. The blog is going to undergo a design change, probably around the start of the year, as I need to officially swap the WordPress hosted blog over to self hosted so I’ve been teaching myself a bit of web design.

Even though all these new ventures have been challenging, especially since I can only work on them at night, I have loved it so far. During the tough times when I can’t for the life of me figure something out, I’m still enjoying the process of building something for me. Whether it helps me escape the ‘cubicle life’, I don’t know yet, but at least I’m starting to find more joy in the journey.

I also want to say THANK YOU to all the readers that stop by this little blog as I continue to figure out my own life and decorate my first home. You have been a great source of community and inspiration to me over the past year and I can’t wait to see what we all have in store for the future.

 

*some links contained with my posts are affiliate. My opinions of products cannot be bought, I will only recommend products that I strongly believe in or have used myself.

Join the Conversation!

