Grocery Challenge Is Back!

Earlier this year I stared a grocery challenge to keep each weeks grocery cost under $40. At the time my company was going through layoffs and I didn’t know if I would be directly affected, and left without a job so I thought the most responsible thing was to start reigning in expenses.  Now that I’m starting my own businesses and trying to transition into a new career, I feel I need to do the same. So I’ve decided to bring the grocery challenge back.

A few things to note:

  • I currently have a decently stocked pantry so the weekly shopping does not include everything that I will eat that week.
  • The budget is for 1 person (& 1 pup). For treats, my dog eats carrots and homemade snacks, so those ingredients will be included in my grocery budget until he starts bringing in his own dough (ha!). It’s ok, he pays me in kisses.
  • I do coupon when possible and paid for 2 Sunday papers at the start of the year. LA Times offered a great deal around Christmas last year that cost $10 for a year’s worth of Sunday papers. I bought 2 subscriptions which are delivered to my house each week.
  • I do most of my shopping at Trader Joes & Target (I get the 5% off at Target using my Red Debit Card + coupon savings). Occasionally I shop at Albertsons, Henrys, Fresh & Easy, and Costco.
  • Weekly budget is $50. Any money left over goes into a little savings jar at home to be collected at the end of the year. That money will be either put into savings, used for holiday gifts, or given to charity. If I were to spend only $45 each week and tuck the remaining $5 away, I’d have about $260 at the end of a full year. That would cover most if not all of my Christmas shopping/shipping, or provide a little holiday relief for a local charity.

 

So without further adieu…this weeks grocery shopping. I spent a total of $43.36 and shopped at Trader Joe’s and Target. $6.64 went into the piggy bank at home. Here’s the haul.

 Grocery Challenge 11_5_2

Healthfull 10 Grain Bread

Whole Wheat Naan

Roasted Garlic Hummus

Multigrain Pita Crackers

 Grocery Challenge 11_5_3

3lbs Russet Potatoes

Fingerling Potatoes

Broccoli

Acorn Squash

Baby Spinach

 Grocery Challenge 11_5_4

Cage Free Eggs

Albacore Tuna (3)

Tyson Grilled Chicken

Tyson Grilled Steak

Cooked Chicken Breasts

Quart of Milk (not pictured)

 

I don’t typically purchase so much ready made chicken/steak/tuna, but I expect this week to be busy with work and I can ensure I eat healthier if I have some pre-made options on hand. I do want to say that the Trader Joe’s Cooked Chicken breasts are great, I do buy those regularly. You get about 4 in a package and they are easy to add to a salad, sandwiches, and pastas throughout the week.

 

Anyone else doing a grocery challenge? I’m considering hosting a link party for others to share their posts, so we can all learn from each other, if there is any interest.

 

For any US readers out there, if you are of voting age…make sure you VOTE tomorrow!

Join the Conversation!

