Grocery Challenge – Nov 12-18

Grocery Challenge 11_12-18

Budget $50

Paid $48.18

Amount put into Savings: $1.82

I’m eating down the fridge this week so I didn’t need much in the way of dairy or meat. I have a stash of frozen ground turkey from a sale a few weeks back that will turn into chili later this week. I’m also making use of several other freezer staples that I already had such as; shrimp, fish, turkey meatballs,green beans, and a premade butternut squash risotto from Trader Joes. I should also point out, this weeks haul is lacking green because I still have fresh broccoli and spinach from last week, and some frozen green beans that I’ll use.

This week I’m also trying my hand at making homemade bread and homemade flour tortillas. I also bought ingredients to make a grain free granola that I want to use in oatmeal and yogurt.

Last week I got pizza for dinner one night so I used money from my grocery fund to pay for it. ($6.97 – not listed but added into the ‘Paid’ calculation)

Oh…and yes…my dog really will eat all 5lbs of those carrots. I’m not allowed a single one, unless I like getting the evil puppy eye. (I don’t, by they way).

This weeks dinner menu:

  • Pesto Potatoes with Runny Eggs
  • Baked Risotto with Bacon and Peas
  • Honey Shrimp over Brown Rice & Roasted Veggies
  • Spaghetti with Pesto and Turkey Meatballs & Salad
  • Sea Salt Mahi Mahi & Butternut Squash Risotto
  • Honey Dijon Grilled Chicken & Roasted Veggies
  • Homemade Chili

Groceries purchased (from Target, Henrys, Albertsons):

  • Cheddar Cheese
  • Refried Black Beans
  • Raisins
  • Chocolate Shortbread Cookies
  • Granulated Sugar
  • Garlic (3)
  • Onion
  • Avocado (3)
  • Oranges (2)
  • Mushrooms
  • Banana
  • Turkey Bacon
  • Plain Greek Yogurt
  • White Sesame Seeds
  • Unsweetened Coconut
  • Sliced Almonds
  • Unsalted Pepitas
  • Raw Sunflower Seeds
  • Chili Beans (not pictured)
  • Chili, no beans (no pictured)
  • Taco Seasoning (not pictured)

One response

Join the Conversation!

