Grocery Challenge – Week of January 14th

It’s the first grocery challenge post of the new year!

 

With the holidays and travelling, I’ve been doing a lot of random grocery shopping lately. Random shopping means I spend way more than I mean need to on things I don’t need. So in the new year I’ll be keeping up with the grocery challenge to get myself back on track. I’m making only one change…the budget is back to $40 each week, instead of $50. Any money not spent each week will continue to go into the ‘piggy bank’.

This week…

The Budget: $40

I Spent: $31.45 (Henry’s, Trader Joe’s)

Cash for the Piggy Bank: $8.55

Groceries 1_13_2013

  • Carrots (5lb) – Dog Treats
  • Chobani 0% Plain Greek Yogurt – for homemade Dog Treats
  • Red Bell Pepper
  • Avocado
  • Feta Cheese
  • Parmesan Cheese
  • Spinach
  • Sliced Chicken Deli Meat
  • Pita Bite Crackers
  • Frozen Mac & Cheese
  • Bouquet of Flowers

 

I suppose you’re wondering how I’m going to live on one box of frozen Mac & Cheese, spinach, and lunch meat for the week. The truth is, I’m not. In an effort to better organize my life, I recently cleaned out my fridge, freezer, and pantry. Everything was straightened, shelves were wiped down, and anything with a past expiration date was dumped. Apparently I am a food hoarder, because this exercise showed me just how much food I have in my house, and I still go out every week and buy more. So for the next few weeks, groceries will probably be lighter than usual and I eat through my stash. 

 

ScreenClip(9)

 

I also recently started using the Out of Milk app on my phone, and their coordinating website. This is where my inner organizational Type A nerd comes in. I used the app’s barcode scanner while I was cleaning the kitchen to scan every item I have in the pantry, freezer, and fridge. It didn’t take as long as it’s sounds, and was fun because I like scanning things. I can now tell you exactly how much flour I have in the house from a quick glance at my phone, and that I have enough chicken in my freezer to serve my entire extended family at a moments notice. Turns out that every time I went shopping over the past few months, I was buying duplicate items simply because I didn’t know that I already had more than enough at home. That’s why I have so much chicken in my freezer, and several weeks worth of soup in my pantry. The app makes it easy to create my weekly shopping list since I can drag the empty items from my pantry list over to the shopping list. With the paid upgrade to the app, I can even track coupons for my lists. My nerdy, coupon loving, shopping desires are now completely fulfilled.

 

Now if you’ll excuse me, I have some chicken and soup to eat…

 

*This post was not in any way sponsored by Out of Milk. They have no idea who I am and did not ask me to mention them. I simply like the product and wanted to share.

3 responses

  1. I’ve been looking at healthy alternatives for my puppies. I’ve dehydrated some green beans and sweet potatoes for them. I’m about to do a few carrots. What are you doing with the yogurt? How are you making that into treats? Please share.

    • Hi Melissa,
      The carrots were actually recommended by my vet, so I love those as an alternative. I use the yogurt to make frozen treats, my knock off to the ‘Frosty Paws’ frozen treat you can buy in stores. It’s a simple mix of yogurt, peanut butter, and banana. I’ll put the recipe up on the blog after I make this next batch.
      Thanks!

  2. Thank you for the ‘Out of Milk’ app, i think it will save me a lot of money in the future. i am new to your blog, what do you do w/the piggy bank? Also, what about your personal items you need, i see they aren’t included w/your food budget?

Join the Conversation!

