Homemade Frosty Dog Treats

A few weeks back I mentioned that I bought some plain Greek yogurt for dog treats and I received an overwhelming amount of email asking me how I was turning the yogurt into dog treats. So here ya go! This is basically my version of those fancy frozen dog treats that you can buy at the grocery store. My pup loves those, but they are expensive and cost about $5 for 4 frozen treats. This homemade version ensures that no additional sugar/additives in the treats, and makes about a dozen that you can keep in your freezer.

This recipe is also very versatile, and you can swap in different ingredients that you might have on hand. For example, pumpkin would be great option instead of the banana. My dog also loves broccoli, I might try that one day and see if he eats it.

 

Homemade Frosty Dog Treats

16oz Plain Greek Yogurt

1/2 Cup Peanut Butter

1 banana (or 1/2 cup pumpkin, etc)

Frozen Dog Treats_1

The steps are super simple. You’re just going to add everything to a bowl, and mash to combine. 

Frozen Dog Treats_2

Don’t worry about getting the mixture completely smooth. It’s perfectly fine to have some banana chunks in it.

Frozen Dog Treats_3

You will likely draw a small crowd at this point of fur children begging to lick the bowl. I cave every time and let him lick the bowl when I’m done, he loves it.

Frozen Dog Treats_6

To make the treats easy to serve, I use cupcake cups. These are the sturdy cups, not the liners. I bought two different sizes in the baking section at Joann’s for a couple of bucks. I use the bigger, standard cupcake size for my Lab, and the smaller size if I know the beagles will be stopping by. 

Frozen Dog Treats_4

Fill each cup about 1/2 way full, and then freeze several hours or overnight to set.

You don’t need cups, you can freeze these in the cupcake pan, but I find that the cupcake cups make it very easy to serve once frozen. If you’re concerned about  your dog eating the cup, then you can rip the cup open and just serve the treat. My dog will tear apart the cup, but he doesn’t eat it, so i just hand him the whole thing to snack on. 

Frozen Dog Treats_5

 

Easy, right? These are great cold snacks for your pup and particularly great during the summer when they need a little refreshment.

5 responses

  1. Taking time and effort to make food for your pup, is so sweet! I’m not good in cooking, and I can’t make even a simple dessert, but I do love to eat beside my dog. The best thing that I can do for her is to play, eat, sleep with her, and make sure to spend quality time with her no matter how busy or tired I am.

  2. Thank you so much for this post! I just put some in the freezer, PB and pumpkin! And, like you, I could not resist letting my furry child lick the bowl! lol

Join the Conversation!

