Rustic Wheat Protein Bread [Healthy & Homemade]

Back in November I made my first batch of Rustic Homemade Bread. I’m still quite impressed with myself. Since then, I’ve made two other loaves. One loaf was white cheddar and Jalapeño, and gifted to my parents. I don’t like Jalapeños but I’m told it was delicious. For myself, I recently made a loaf of wheat protein bread as a healthy morning alternative to store bought bread.  I wanted a version that was hearty, and had several grams of protein per slice. I used a mix of All Purpose Flour, Whole Wheat Flour, and Hemp Protein.

I topped it with some old fashioned oats.

2013-02-03 13.01.33

Don’t be turned off by the fact that it’s slightly green, the color is from the hemp protein. The basic recipe is from Simply So Good, I just replaced some of the all purpose flour for some whole wheat flour and hemp protein powder. For the protein powder, I used Nutiva – Organic Hemp Protein which I originally found in a single serve packet at Sprouts. You only need 3 Tablespoons per loaf of bread, so the packet has more than enough. Be sure to check out Janet’s blog post for great step by step pictures.

 

The finished loaf is dense and chewy, excellent with almond butter or jam. To preserve the loaf, I froze 2/3 of the loaf after slicing and only kept 1/3 in the pantry at a time. Overall, I love this recipe and plan to make is regularly in the future.

 

 

Healthy Rustic Wheat Protein Bread

Servings: About 14 slices

Adapted from Simply So Good

 

2.5 Cups While Unbleached Flour (remove 3 Tablespoons of flour)

1/2 Cup Whole Wheat Flour

3 Tablespoons Nutiva – Organic Hemp Protein

1 3/4 teaspoons salt

1/2 teaspoon Instant Yeast

1 1/2 Cups Water

1/4 cup old fashioned oatmeal

 

  • In a large bowl combine the first 5 ingredients (both flours, hemp powder, salt, and yeast). Whisk until well mixed. 

 

  • Add the water and stir gently to combine with a rubber spatula. I sometimes need to add a little more water if the dough appears too dry. The dough should be slightly sticky and will look like a messy blob.

 

  • Cover the bowl with plastic wrap and set to rest on the counter for 12-18 hours (I always leave it overnight). The dough will rise, mine usually doubles in size.

 

  • In the morning (or after the dough has rested for at least 12 hours), preheat the oven to 450 degrees. You’ll need a oven safe pot with lid, big enough to accommodate the the bread. I use a standard stainless steel roasting pan (grill removed), with lid. A large oven safe casserole dish will also work as long as it has a lid.  Once the oven is pre-heated, place the pot, with lid, in the oven for 30 minutes to pre-heat.

 

  • Once you put the pot in the oven, place the dough on a heavily floured surface. At this point add the oatmeal to the top and press lightly to help it stick. Cover with the plastic wrap and let it rest for the 30 minutes (until the pot is pre-heated).

 

  • After 30 minutes, remove the pot from the oven…CAREFULLY. That sucker will be almost 500 degrees so please be VERY careful.

 

  • Place the the dough into the pot and cover with lid. Bake, covered, for 30 minutes. Then remove the lid, and bake an additional 15 minutes. [Tip: with floured hands, shape the dough slightly before placing in the pot. You can fold the edges under slightly, creating a rounded ball and the finished bread will stay in more of a dome shape. I ‘plopped’ the first batch into the pot and it baked into a very flat loaf.]

 

I was able to slice it into 14 pieces. Nutritional stats are pretty decent at about 103 calories slice, 0 grams of fat, 4 grams of protein, and 1 gram of fiber.  Of course that will vary depending on how many slices you get from your loaf.

 

Enjoy!

One response

  1. Pingback: March Favorites [Non-Beauty] | Changing My Destiny

Join the Conversation!

