Easy Lentil & Quinoa Side Dish (Customize With Your Favorite Flavors!)

Lentil_Quinoa_9

I have a new toy! Recently I purchased a rice cooker at Target because I wanted a way to make cooking grains easier while I’m at work. I don’t eat rice very often, but I do eat Quinoa, Oatmeal, and Lentils all the time. The Rice Cooker has made the whole lentil/quinoa cooking process so much easier.

Lentil_Quinoa_7

I never knew these Green lentils could be so easy, versatile, and delicious!

 Lentil_Quinoa_1

Lentil_Quinoa_4

Easy Quinoa & Lentil Side Dish

Makes: 8 Cups

 

1 Cup uncooked green lentils

1 Cup uncooked (rinsed) Quinoa

3.75 Cups Water

dash of salt (you can always add more later, so go easy)

 

This recipe will make the basic Lentil/Quinoa mix. Once cooked you can add anything you want. If you want more flavor to the basic mix, you can use chicken/veggie broth in place of the water.

Lentil_Quinoa_3

Add all the ingredients to the rice cooker.

Lentil_Quinoa_5

Lentil_Quinoa_6

I set my cooker for the ‘Brown Rice’ setting then went back to work. I believe it only cooks for about 45 minutes, but I can’t tell you exactly because the rice cooker takes care of that for me. When it’s done, it switches to a ‘Keep Warm’ mode until I turn it off. I actually left it for a few hours since I had several back to back meetings. It wasn’t overcooked at all when I finally unplugged the machine.

Follow the instructions for your specific machine when deciding what setting to use.

Lentil_Quinoa_8

I store it in the fridge and eat it over the course of the week. It goes well with so many things. The flavor is a little nutty, but otherwise very neutral.

  • Add salsa and eat it with eggs
  • Added cinnamon and mixed it with oatmeal
  • Mix with a little feta and roasted veggies for a vegetarian main course or serve along side Fish/Chicken/Steak
  • Throw a scoop into your favorite salad or soup for a protein/fiber boost
  • Use it as a replacement for rice in a Stir Fry 

Today for lunch I mixed it with some grated parmesan cheese, a little bit of extra virgin olive oil, and some chopped cherry tomatoes. Next time I might even mix in some sausage to add a bit of spice.

Absolutely Delicious!

Lentil_Quinoa_9

Nutritional stats are pretty damn awesome too. 1 cup of the Lentil/Quinoa Mix has about 170 calories, 29g carbs, 1g fat, 9g protein, and 9g fiber. I used the MyFitnessPal recipe creator to get these stats and it doesn’t account for any other ingredients you may mix in for flavor.

 

Bon Appétit!

Join the Conversation!

